Effetto Mariposa "Caffelatex" Tire Sealant: On Test

There is a new sealant product on the market that is a bit different than the typical ones we see used in mountain bike tires. Generally we are talking about latex based products. Caffelatex is a little different in some important ways. Let’s take a closer look…..

Okay, so here’s the skinny from Effetto Mariposa’s press release……..

Caffelatex is a new kind of tire sealant.

First, Caffelatex includes a foaming agent, called “ActiFoam™.” Caffelatex foams when
ridden or shaken filling the tire cavity with the latex sealant. This makes setting up
tubeless tires easier because the sidewalls are covered by the foaming sealant. It also
continues to fill the rim cavity when ridden to help keep the tire beads sealed and assist
in sidewall punctures.

Second, Caffelatex is made of synthetic latex and contains no ammonia. This means it is
100% rim friendly and non-corrosive.

Caffelatex is available in 1 liter and 250 ml bottles. In addition, Caffelatex Tubeless
Valves, Caffelatex Rim Tape, and a Caffelatex Sealant Injector are all also available.

CafféLatex™ repairs punctures up to 6mm (MTB) and 3mm (Road), and is ideal for
tubeless MTB and road systems and also repairs tubular and standard tires.

CafféLatex™ has absolutely no ammonia and is 100% tire and rim friendly.

CafféLatex™ is available in three varieties:
• CafféLatex™ 250ml bottle
• CafféLatex™ 1000ml bottle (1 liter)
• CafféLatex™ Tubeless Kit
o 1 x 250ml bottle of CafféLatex™
o 2 x CafféLatex™ Tubeless valves (w RVC) + 1 Presta valve key, & 1
CafféLatex™ Injector
o 1 x CafféLatex™ Tubeless Tap

Caffelatex is distributed here in the States by Cantitoe Road. Check out their website for more.

We’ll be putting the product to the test in the coming months and we’ll give you the lowdown on how it performs. Stay tuned!

No Responses to “Effetto Mariposa "Caffelatex" Tire Sealant: On Test”

  1. chris_geotec Says:

    as can also be read on their homepage – the brain of Effetto Mariposa – was until 2007 designing for Vittoria & Geax – who are already offering a similar system already prepackaged -ready to use in pressurized cans. Don´t know if the foaming effect in this product is enhanced by depressurizing against simple shaking /agitation of “Caffelatex”.

    Positive side effect of the foamed agent besides the one stated above: Besides that foam sealant can be more effective, reaching small leakages instantly, also the amount can be reduced without reducing the puncture resistance; The saving is not significant from 60-90 ml (standard liquid latex sealant) against 30-40 g of the foamed sealant –> but definately woth noting for the wieght weenies around – or if used in same amounts enhancing puncture resistance.

    Have you used the GEAX product calles “PIT STOP”? An comparison would be interesting.

    Ps: I see on GEAX´s website they recently have added a new product called “PIT STOP TNT 1l”, which also is liquid. Nothing said about foaming or not. Could it be we are looking at the same thing in different packages?

  2. GreenLightGo Says:

    GT – you were reading my mind! I just saw this on the front page of MTBR yesterday and did a search on the forums/google. I will be following this one closely. Pricing looks great – their largest bottle should do 10 tires and cost roughly $30.

  3. Guitar Ted Says:

    chris_geotec: Yes, I have used GEAX’ Pit Stop, Hutchinson’s Fast Air, Stan’s, Slime Tubeless, Bontrager Super Juice, and my own home brew tubeless sealant made from latex mold builder and windshield washer solvent.

    Fast Air and Pit Stop are great for inflating a tire *and* sealing properties, although the sealant part is secondary, at least for the larger volume 29″er tires.

    My experience was that after a short time the Pit Stop, and to a lesser extent Fast Air, were completely dry inside the tire. They sealed up the casing, but were not capable of sealing punctures. (This was with GEAX TNT tires and Hutchinson Python 29″er tires for referance)

    On the other end of the scale I have a bike with my homebrew stuff in the tires that is still sloshing (I can hear it if I shake the wheel) after a year of service. I have had Stan’s set ups, Slime, and Bontrager Super Juice still pooling inside tires up to six months after installation.

    If the Effetta Mariposa Caffelatex can last as long, need less sealant, and still seal puntures, then it will be a definite winner. If it goes above and beyond what I have experienced with other sealants, it will be truly exceptional. We will see. 😉

  4. chris_geotec Says:

    GT – Thanks for the comment – it´s always good to have someone with such an expertice /experience with all different products – I have used all that is available here in Europe, namely Notubes´ & FRM´s proprietary sealants, DT-Swiss kit and GEAX´s Pit stop (havent tried Schwalbes Blue Doc yet). I can only agree with your remarks maybe not as much on the drying up but there might be a climatic variable involved as well.
    Anyhow, it will be interesting to see your experience with the Caffelatex – I am all eyes and ears – keep it up,
    Chris

  5. chris_geotec Says:

    additional remark: When I did my testing – i always had an eye on how the sealant reacted to a CO2 atmosphere. Reason: When no compressor is available (out on the trail or at races) these high pressure cartridges are always CO2 – and some sealants have a tendency to clogging (technically: coaggulate). Maybe it is standard with you anyway but maybe you can write a sentence about this in the course of your testing as well.

    Chris

  6. Monte Says:

    I’m interested in what it’s like if you end up needing to install a tube. Doesn’t look pretty.

  7. Oderus Says:

    According to the the Caffe site, they recommend checking your tire every 2 months to make sure that the sealant is still liquid. Ever 2 months does not sound too promising in my book. I top my stans off every 8-9 months. I have about the same usage life with Schwalbe’s doc blue. I understand the idea/application of the foaming action, I suspect that is what causes it to dry so fast. I also agree that if you do find your self in a situation of having to install a tube, you’d have an awful mess on your hands……….and bike.

  8. Guitar Ted Says:

    chris_geotec, Monte, Oderus: Firstly, I just started doing some testing with the CO2 inflation. I will do the same with the Caffelatex as well. As to the install of a tube when necessary- yes. It is a slimy mess. If your sealant works though, you don’t have any worries.

    I have had two occasions where tubeless tire sealant did not work, and both couldn’t really be blamed on the sealant. Once it was a barbed wire puncture through a sidewall. The other was a bad valve. I was fortunate both times in that I always stuff a bandana in my pack for greasy hand clean up in case of a repair, so I was okay with it.

    It does prolong the process when you need to install a tube in a sealant filled tire though and it is nasty. 🙂

  9. Cloxxki Says:

    In which way is this foam sealent different from the stuff I buy at any gas station, delivered in aerosol containers with screw-on connector? The latter takes away need for an air compressor of course, but is it not the same concept?

    20 years ago we had foam containers as flat repair in bicycle shops. I had class mates taking them to school every day. It did make a great useless mess when one day needed 🙂

  10. Guitar Ted Says:

    Cloxxki: I think the fact that the Caffelatex is synthetic latex is the key here. No ammonia in the formula should make it rim friendly. I have seen some examples of rim corrosion supposedly caused by sealant in some road tubeless rims.

  11. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Does the bottle come in a nice bag? Perhaps a box? That would be nice….

  12. alberto_effettomariposa Says:

    Hi, I’m the Effetto Mariposa guy, and I just wanted to answer some of the open questions.

    To chris_geotec:
    I left Vittoria/Geax three years ago and Effetto Mariposa products are independent from my former employer’s. The PIT STOP TNT sealant is a different product than Caffélatex. Eventually other latex-based sealant makers will come out with foaming products soon, but so far Caffélatex is the only one.

    To Oderus:
    I’ve added a Q&A page to Caffélatex product description with further details. Checking the sealant every 2 months doesn’t mean the sealant dries that fast, it is more a safety norm than a real need. Like I wrote, we had ridden CL for more than one year before it set, using a t.less UST tyre mounted on a UST wheel… but it depends a lot on the kind of tyre and external conditions.

    To Cloxxki:
    The inflate and repair cartridges you’re talking about are also latex based, but rely on a gas (propane or propane/butane most of the time) to make it foam. Caffélatex has a motion-activated foaming agent that works like tensioactives in liquid soaps.
    Thanks for the interest in our products, any feedback is welcome!!

  13. Oderus Says:

    Alberto, I am right around the corner from you here in Fort Collins. I am going to load up my two Niners with the Caffelatex and give it a thorough thrashing (as soon as the snow is melted). I use Stan’s now with flawless performance but I am always looking for something new to offer my customer’s. I will write back once I get enough to do both bikes and let ya’ll know how it worked out.

  14. Davidcopperfield Says:

    What about mixtures? I tend to mix Stan’s and Hutchinson with Slime. May I add Slime to caffelatex?

  15. alberto_effettomariposa Says:

    Davidcopperfield: mixing different sealants is, at best, a shot in the dark, and we don’t encourage it. The way chemicals react is not like 1+1, and two good sealants with very different formulas (like Stan’s and Slime) don’t simply add to make the “über” sealant. The result is often less effective and/or less durable than the starting elements.

  16. Davidcopperfield Says:

    Slime is claylike and prevents stan’s from drying up. Together with Hutchinson air it makes a mixture which leaves out the grosser particles at the beads and allows the tyre – Ignitor in my case- to be pumped with hand pump. This is my first impression. On mtbr it was discussed the usage of homebrew sealants. Several work and several don’t.
    Is it possible for you to take some time and experiment with slime a bit and stan’s with your Caffelatex? Just for curiosity ;)? Will they enhance the application or deteriorate it?

  17. Oderus Says:

    Davidcopperfield, I just received a couple of bottle yesterday and from what I am seeing, I would not mix this product with anything. It’s consistency and foaming action is part of what makes it work. Adding poo-poo Slime to it would be an insult and a waste of product. I would also say that if you buy the Caffelatex, be sure to get the injector as well. It is awesome. It will pump the caffelatex right thru a presta or schrader valve without having to remove the valve core!

  18. will-I.am.1 Says:

    Sounds great Oderus, keep us posted!

  19. Oderus Says:

    Ok, I set up one bike on Wednesday with Caffelatex. Using the injector, I put 100ml into each wheel (29×2.3). Now, it bears repeating that I did NOT remove the valve cores to install the sealant. I simply opened up the presta valve, attached the syringe and injected the fluid. I lost maybe 3 drops with each tire. I will note that I installed it the sealant into a tube and not a tubeless tire. I hope to do my other 29er, which is tubeless, later on today. Back to the tubed bike. I made it a point to ride thru a field that I know is full of Goat Head thorns. Here in Fort Collins, you could almost run a business pulling goat heads out of tires. Luckily I picked up a couple in the front tire and one in the back. I pulled them out and watched a tiny bead form from where the sealant came out and went home. The bike has been hanging untouched for four days now and the tires are still inflated! No flats. Remember that this is in a tube! I can’t wait to put it into the tubeless bike and go for another ride. I have put it into my road bike as well since I commute on it everyday and I have not had any issues. I will note that my road pressure seems more consistent from day to day. Less leeching with the sealant. So far, so good. While this is by no means a thorough test, my initial thoughs are that this is going to be a fantastic product down the road, for me at least. The ease and cleanliness of installation alone puts it one step ahead of Stan’s. I’ll report back once the April Snow (WTF!) has cleared and the trails open back up.

Leave a Reply

