Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products Of '08: Siren Song

Editors Note: Yeah, yeah…..another year end review! Tis the season! So, here are my favorite things that have passed through the Twenty Nine Inches review process during the past year. I want to point out a few parameters that I used for what I chose here.

1. The product had to be in the review process during the time period of December 2007 through to the end of November 2008. Reviews that are currently in process I did not include and will be eligible for my 2009 Top Ten list.

2. They had to be products or bicycles that I personally used during this period. Nothing any of the other Twenty Nine Inches staff reviewed on their own could be considered for my list. This list doesn’t necessarily reflect the opinions of anyone but me, Guitar Ted.

That said, let’s get on with this……
Siren Song SS

Number 9, The Siren “Song”: Back in late winter, I got to test this demo single speed Siren “Song” custom made bike from Siren Bikes. Brendan Collier, the head honch at Siren, came up with an entirely new way to do a soft tail 29″er. Using a custom made titanium flex plate and a Cane Creek air shock, this single speed was bounced on trails in Iowa and Texas during a short three month test period.

Why It Made The List: The Siren Song is a new innovation in a soft tail design that is still being tweaked out to this very day to be better and more versatile. I’ll be honest: I wasn’t necessarily enamored of the particular frame this technology was bolted to, but since Brendan sent up a demo bike, and not something specifically designed for me, (which is what he normally does for paying customers!), I still include this bike in my Top Ten of ’08. Innovation, evolution, and smart design application landed the Siren on my list.

My Two Cents: The soft tail is tailor made for big wagon wheelers. In combination with the 29″ers inherent roll over abilities, the soft tail only enhances that charateristic while providing a suspension feel that belies its minimal travel figure. Siren Bikes Song model is a custom made alternative that can be altered and tweaked to accomodate most riders fancy. All of this wrapped up in an attractively presented package. The Siren Song should be on your radar if you are looking for custom tailored soft tail goodness.

Next stop….Number Eight! Stay tuned!

No Responses to “Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products Of '08: Siren Song”

  1. GreenLightGo Says:

    I had forgotten about this one – good choice!

  2. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Welly welly nice!

  3. nate Says:

    Hey GT, how would you compare this to the salsa dos niner?

  4. Guitar Ted Says:

    The way the bikes work, (in terms of the rear suspension soft tail) are very different. Some folks might find the Siren more to their liking due to the fact that the flexing part of the design is replaceable and allows for breaking the bike down into two halves without S&S connectors.

    On the other hand, the Dos Niner’s design is more “seamless” and doesn’t have bolts to deal with that hold everything together.

    In the travel configuration I tested, the Dos would win out, mainly due to the damper assembly on the Siren, which was an older Cane Creek unit that is no longer made.

    So, it is hard for me to say. If the new damper unit does away with the stiction I felt and Brendan’s travel increases on the design make it more plush, my vote would swing the other way.

    Of course, it all is a moot point when you consider that Brendan can fit you and tune the frame to your riding style. Something that Salsa isn’t set up to do. 😉

Leave a Reply

