Spinner 2Nine Suspension Fork: Update

It has been awhile since I have put the Spinner 2Nine suspension fork on my Dos Niner. I made a switch to my OS Bikes Blackbuck recently and have some more to say about the fork. So, sit back and check out the latest!

Spinner on the Blackbuck

With the Spinner 2Nine on the Blackbuck now I have a little better understandng of how this fork stacks up against the “big dogs” of the 29″er world. I have already tested the Blackbuck with a Fox F-29 and the classic Reba fork everyone is familiar with. How did it fair? Well, It isn’t really in the same league as these forks, nor was it intended to be.

The Spinner 2Nine has to be viewed for what it is, an entry level suspension fork. In that capaity I think it fairs fairly well. It just doesn’t have the chassis stiffness that the Fox F-29 has, nor does it have that wonderfully tunable plushness of a Reba. The Spinner 2Nine isn’t terrible, but it isn’t to be seen on the same playing field as the other forks mentioned. What does it have going for it?

Well, it is easy to set up and it has a decent amount of travel that is useable. It feels a bit harsher than a Reba, more akin to the Fox in this regard. In the previous report, I mentioned having a bit of an issue with the mid-stroke of the suspension. I think that I have found a way to alleviate that issue now.

Rebound adjust

I mentioned in the earlier report that I was going to mess with the rebound and that I did. I ended up going to full slow, and it made a huge difference in the way the fork felt and performed for me. I also feel that now the fork is breaking in and coming into its own, which is also lending to the better feelings during compression that were not there before. Now the travel is much smoother and with the rebound set as it is, the fork seems much less harsh.

Overall, for the terrain I recently tested the fork on, it seems to be fine. In harsher, faster terrain, I still feel that the damper gets overwhelmed. The maxed out rebound gets a little “packed up” and the slight flexiness of the chassis shows through. This doesn’t make the Spinner 2Nine a “bad” fork. It is what it is, and it makes no pretenses otherwise.

Interestingly, I was able to chat with a representative of Spinner at Interbike and the company is very interested in feedback and improving the fork. I made my suggestions to them which included getting rid of the cantilever bosses, going to a 32mm stanchion for a stiffer chassis, and made some other suggestions regarding the lowers and aesthetics. It will be interesting to see if Spinner makes some changes. I am hopeful that they will.

I am going to give the Spinner 2Nine some more trail time and come back with a final asessment in a week or so. Stay tuned!

No Responses to “Spinner 2Nine Suspension Fork: Update”

  1. Willie Says:

    Please let us know what the axle to crown measurement is and the fork rake is. Trail figures even better. Thanks.

  2. Cloxxki Says:

    Willie, trail info is nothing if you’re going to use the fork on another bike…

  3. agu Says:

    So how does it compare to the RST M29?

  4. loki Says:

    Hey, there are riders who prefer candi brakes too! Don’t steal us the last forks available.

  5. Guitar Ted Says:

    Willie: I’ll post all the figures on the Spinner in the final review including MSRP as well.

    agu: I will be covering that in my final post, stay tuned!

    loki: I understand that some folks may want a cantilever fork yet. The RST M-29 is still that way, and I believe White Brothers can be special ordered in that configuration as well. Granted, the choices are rather slim, but for better or worse, my feeling is that Spinner would benefit from a no-canti lower, and I feel that is where the majority of off road cyclists are going- disc only.

  6. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Technoweenies abound!

    It would be pretty cool if there was a side-by-side comparison to the Dart.

    I mean, putting the Spinner up against the F-29 and the Reba is like Mike Tyson fighting an infant……

  7. agu Says:

    What Dirt said…

    How bout a fork free-for-all?

    Spinner 2Nine vs. RST M-29 vs. RS Dart 29 vs. Manitou Drake

  8. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Word up!

  9. Cloxxki Says:

    Indeed, the offerings are in place for an entry level 29″er fork test. That’s quite a milestone by itself!

  10. Rob from Ottawa Says:

    Bad guitar ted, they should keep the canti bosses! šŸ˜›

    Thanks for the update! šŸ™‚

  11. Dirt McGirt Says:

    I want my cut if you’re gonna make money on the lowend fork “shootout”. I’m also waiting on my check for coming up with 650b.com, too.

    Where my MONEY>!!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?@!?!@?312/1/1/1

Leave a Reply

