A Experiment In Front End Geometry: Update II

Summer has gone and now Fall is in full swing. Yet the Experiment In Front End Geometry goes on! I took a little break from the testing for Interbike, but now it is time to get back to the end of this test and some conclusions afterwards.

Reba on the test sled

We last left off with the Reba, the first suspension fork I used on the Blackbuck. Next up is a G2 offset Fox F-29 at 100mm of travel. Then the final fork will be a Spinner 2Nine. Until the next full fledged report, here is a list of all of the posts in this series so far so you can catch up or refer to them easily.

Introduction
The Baseline Fork
Fork #1
Fork #2
Fork #3
Fork #4
Suspension Fork #1

Look for the report on Suspension Fork #2 coming soon!

No Responses to “A Experiment In Front End Geometry: Update II”

  1. plesurnpain Says:

    First off, this has been a great test. Thanks for the time and effort needed to pull this off. I only have one suggestion that might make your test even more helpful.
    I see that you’re using a G2 Fox next. The Fox definitely needs to be part of the test, but why not use the aftermarket Fox which is available to the public? The G2 is hard for most of us to come by as an addition to our current ride.
    Thanks

  2. Guitar Ted Says:

    plesurnpain: Thanks for your kind words, first of all. I appreciate it. 🙂

    The Fox fork in the G2 offset is being used for several reasons. First off, it represents the extremity in offset that is currently available on the market for a suspension fork. I am interested in testing the limits available to test. This will fit in nicely with the other end of the spectrum, the Reba which I already tested at 38mm offset. Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, I already have the G2 fork in my possession. 🙂 Finally, the Spinner 2Nine fork, at 44mm offset will represent the “middle of the road” here, if you will. It will only be 2mm shy of what Rock Shox, Manitou, and Fox are using for their offsets. (46mm)

    I feel that in a geometrical sense, these three forks will be representative of what is currently available. That should be sufficient to show what can be done in terms of handling from that perspective. Of course, performance over trail obstacles is another story, but this test isn’t so much about that.

    Thanks for your suggestion though. I totally understand why you might like to see a “standard” Fox F-29 on the Blackbuck. However; I think that from the viewpoint of what I am trying to accomplish with this test, what I have to work with should be a representative example of offsets and axle to crown heights available to anyone on the marketplace today.

  3. plesurnpain Says:

    GT
    Thanks for the reply. I understand your reasoning. I was just curious to hear what it was. Good luck with the next test. I think that you’ll have a great time with that set up.
    For what it’s worth, I ride an 08 XXIX that I ride with the stock fork, as well as an 80mm F29. The bike rides great with both forks. The rigid is so precise and quick handling, but a bit rough at times. The F29 doesn’t slow things down as much as you might think. My point here is that your recent comments concerning all the trail numbers are correct. We ride mountain bikes, not computers!
    Good luck with the rest of your test.
    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

