Twenty Nine Inches Plays "Tag"

Editors Note: “Blog Tag” is a harmless form of a chain letter that bloggers engage in consisting of several questions that are meant to be humorous and yet insightful. Normally we wouldn’t engage in such tom foolery, but since this “tag” is heavily bicycle oriented, I figured that it might prove to be some fun, comic relief for all of you out there. Especially after wading through all of this fork testing recently. Enjoy!

If you could have any one — and only one — bike in the world, what would it be?

Okay, so you do realize this is Twenty Nine Inches, the site about 29″ers? The answer should be obvious then. But to be specific I would opt for a single speed, since I could only have one bike and all. A single speed that could be converted into a geary, of course.

Do you already have that coveted dream bike? If so, is it everything you hoped are you working toward it would be? If not, getting it? If you’re not working toward getting it, why not?

The perfect answer was given to this question by the person who “tagged” me. So I am going to use their answer as mine, since I can’t possibly put this any better than they did.

Shouldn’t dream bikes remain just that…as Dream Bikes. As soon as you acquire your Dream Bike your mind begins to wander to yet another bike. And suddenly you’re committing Bike-dultry on your dream ride. So, much like dating, I’ll continue to ride bikes that are ‘obtainable’ and allow my Dreams to evolve with the industry.

If you had to choose one — and only one — bike route to do every day for the rest of your life, what would it be, and why?

I like single track and gravel roads. I like long rides. So my route would include all of that. It would take all day, every day. There would be great Mexican food and beer at the end with my family and friends too. (Hey! Every route has to have a destination, right?)

What kind of sick person would force another person to ride one and only one bike ride to do for the rest of her / his life?

I don’t know, but they are truly sick and twisted. Oh…….and unrealistic too!

Do you ride both road and mountain bikes? If both, which do you prefer and why? If only one or the other, why are you so narrowminded?

Hmm….I didn’t realize there were different kinds of bikes in this regard. I use my bike on the road- then it is a “road bike”, if I ride off road,it is a “mountain bike”. Right? I mean, in the end, they are all just bikes.

Have you ever ridden a recumbent? If so, why? If not, describe the circumstances under which you would ride a recumbent.

Actually, I have ridden quite a few recumbents as part of my gig as a shop wrench. Plus, I got to ride one all day for a commercial film shoot.

Have you ever raced a triathlon? If so, have you also ever tried strangling yourself with dental floss?

No, I have not. But I did do a mountain bike race once that included a 75 yard in the river hike a bike on each lap and numerous sections where we all had to dismount and traverse some nasty ravines. Does that count?

Suppose you were forced to either give up ice cream or bicycles for the rest of your life. Which would you give up, and why?

At least this isn’t a tough question. Now really, it should have been a choice between beer and bikes. That would have been tougher! Obviously, the ice cream would have to go.

What is a question you think this questionnaire should have asked, but has not? Also, answer it.

My question would be: If you could change one thing- and only one thing- about cycling, what would it be?

Answer: I would banish all the “us vs. them” factionalism in the sport. Hey, we all love to ride bikes, right?

You’re riding your bike in the wilderness (if you’re a roadie, you’re on a road, but otherwise the surroundings are quite wilderness-like) and you see a bear. The bear sees you. What do you do?

Say, “Hey! How’s it goin’?” and hope he’s in a good mood.

Editors Note: Normally at this point you are to name some other bloggers and link them, so they are “tagged” into passing on this nonsense. I don’t often play by the rules, so I am not going t engage in that facet of this. I hope you enjoyed the break from the “normal” Twenty Nine Inches fare. Now….I return you to your regularly scheduled programming!

Leave a Reply

