Niner Bikes: News and Hints

Last week I had the opportunity to chat with Steve Domahidy of Niner Bikes. We covered a huge range of topics in our chat and I wish I could tell you all of what I heard, but alas……I can’t just yet! You know, sometimes these sort of posts are the hardest ones to write. Be that as it may, here goes…….

First of all, I must address the J.E.T. 9 issue, as I am sure many of you are out there wondering what is going on. I can tell you that Niner is doing all it can to get this situation resolved. I can’t tell you when that will be yet though. Obviously, Niner wants this over as much as you riders out there with J.E.T.9’s do. Even Steve lamented, “I mean, it’s a bummer for me too, because I can’t even ride my own J.E.T.9, ya know?” Steve, Chris, and the rest of the Niner guys are all nuts about riding, so they “get it” when they see the frustrations of riders out there. Trust me, they are doing their best to resolve the issues. Nuff said.

Now on to some other stuff Steve and I touched on. While I can not divulge details yet, I can say that Niner is going to drop a couple of bombs at Interbike this year. Of course, Niner has done some show stopping at the big dance in Vegas before, but I know this will be huge news for 29″er freaks everywhere.

Not only will they be showing something pretty special, ( Steve shared some crazy details on the project), but Steve promises that there will be something rideable at the Outdoor Demo too. So, be on the lookout come the end of September out Bootleg Canyon way.

Finally, I will say that during the course of our conversation, (which consisted mainly of Steve going on about technical details and me saying “Wow!” and “That’s cool!” about a million times), I learned that Niner has made an even more dedicated commitment to research and development in regards to new designs and testing of products. You’d think you were talking to the head of a big bicycle manufacturer if you could hear all the things Niner is doing to test and research their designs. I was duly impressed.

I know this isn’t the detailed post many of you would like to read here, but really…….if I told you, Steve would throw a pedal wrench in my spokes at Outdoor Demo! So, I ain’t talkin’ just yet. Just stay tuned, I promise you…..it’ll be worth the wait!

Updated 7/15/’08: In an e-mail from Chris Sugai of Niner Bikes I learned that the rocker links for the J.E.T.9’s will be in the hands of owners of J.E.T.9’s very soon. Here’s the quote from the e-mail: “We are (due) to send new links to riders near the end of this
month. We have been updating people on the process and know where we
stand as far as meeting our posted schedule.”

Great news for owners of J.E.T.9’s and for us actually, as we will now be able to continue the test of our J.E.T.9 for this site!

No Responses to “Niner Bikes: News and Hints”

  1. JJ Says:

    What a shitty post 🙂

    He won’t ruin one of the wheels of one of his own bikes, so come on with the details!

    JJ

  2. Guitar Ted Says:

    JJ: Ha! I suppose you are right, but I am holding my cards close for now. All in due time. I just wanted folks to be aware that something super cool is coming down the pipeline from Niner Bikes.

    Besides, I left an obvious hint in the post on one facet of the new project. We’ll see if anyone can decipher it.

  3. okiecalvin Says:

    So what are the problems with the Jet9? My brothers looking into getting one and I hate to point him to a turd!

  4. Dr.Pre-roll Says:

    Bootleg Canyon eh???……..I smell a DH type bike. Sweet.

  5. Oderus Says:

    Okie, the Jet is far from being a turd. Niner simply needs to get a stronger pivot link. My initial thoughts are that chrome plating a piece of cold forged aluminum would not be a good idea as it adds heat into the equation. That’s not good for cold forged aluminum. I suspect if they go with a rocker similar to the RIP and forget about the polished look, it will be just fine. I have been riding a JET on and off for about 6 weeks without issue. Just got a RIP to demo yesterday and I can’t wait to hammer that thing out here.
    Gted, good luck getting in a ride at Bootleg, I’ll be there before you to take whatever they have out……………all day. 🙂

  6. Johnny One Dog Says:

    Why did niner stop selling the build packages? Too many issues, wanted to stick to their knitting with frames?
    I love my Air 9!

  7. Oderus Says:

    New X9 build kit coming from Niner very soon. I think that it will only be for select bikes though (RIP OR JET).

    Gted: I just found out what Niner has in store for Interbike. Should kick a lot of arse. Can’t wait to hop on one. Damn it’s nice to be in the loop!
    Cheers

  8. Guitar Ted Says:

    Hey Oderus, maybe we can take turns at Bootleg Canyon. Whata ya say? 😉

    okiecalvin: Just keep in mind that the J.E.T.9 is a solid, well thought out bike. There was an issue with the linkage that is being addresed. As Oderus says, once it gets figured out, (and by the sounds of it, that’ll be within a few weeks) it’ll be a stellar rig. Early reports on the J.E.T.9 from our own Tim Grahl indicate that the bike is a fantastic climber and should excell at XC/Trail type riding.

  9. Oderus Says:

    Share? After what I found out today! There will be no sharing. Just me….riding it like I stole it!

  10. MMcG Says:

    You guys with that inside scoop suck! 😉

    I read on the Niner board on empty beer about a possible new rigid fork from the Niner guys, can you confirm this as something new at least?

  11. John from Cape Town Says:

    Ok Ted, I’m used to being in the dark about world affairs, I live on the southern most tip of Africa, but please help me out here. I need to buy a full sus XC style 29er in the next few months in preparation for the Cape Epic (www.cape-epic.com), I am currently riding a Caffeine 29er frame, love it, but I’m getting older and my rear end needs something softer.
    I’ve been waiting patiently for news of the Scalpel 29er, and recently considered buying the JET9, but with the linkage issues and my weight, I have decided against it. You’re a knowledgeable chap point me in the right direction, should I wait, risk breakages, what?

  12. Guitar Ted Says:

    John: The J.E.T.9 issue is going to be over by the end of the month. Get the bike and you will be amazed by it’s climbing abilities and of course, you will have some nice bump eating benefits to boot. I recommend taking a hard look at the Niner. We have one on test, (sidelined by the linkage issue) and our initial results are very favorable.

  13. Davidcopperfield Says:

    Niner get down to working on a DH 29er with dual crown Groove 203mm or at least 180mm 🙂 I wanna see those wry countenances of FR/DH blokes spoting huge wheels avalnaching down the slope past them.

  14. Mike Says:

    Pretty cool news about Niner and a DH bike. I talked with Fuzzy at the Lumberjack 100 and was thrilled to see some Niner Bikes out there.

  15. Guitar Ted Says:

    Mike: No DH bike, at least not any time soon. 😉

  16. John from Cape Town Says:

    Thanks for the advice GT, I await your test results

Leave a Reply

