Raleigh '09 Rumors

Twenty Nine Inches has learned that the rumored XXIX+G “blinged out” spec model is to become a reality. We have been hearing of the pssibility of such a model being produced for almost a year now. The name we heard was the “Super Deluxe”, or “XXIX+G Deluxe”. The model will be based on Raleigh’s other 29″er hardtail models in terms of geometry. The bike is said to be spec’ed with a “bling” spec, including Mavic Cr29max wheels, X-0 componentry, and a frame made with Reynolds 853 pipes.

We are hearing that there will only be a very limited number of these rigs made, so stay tuned for further updates.

As far as the remaining models of 29″ers in Raleigh’s line up, we’re hearing that the XXIX+G will be back relatively unchanged, (perhaps some spec changes and color differences). The XXIX single speed will be changed significantly.

The XXIX has always been offered with the shorter axle to crown rigid steel fork as opposed to what other companies have been doing with their rigid fork 29″ers. Raleigh’s axle to crown measurement on the XXIX has been approximately 440mm versus others 465-470mm axle to crown forks. Now Raleigh plans to change the fork on the XXIX to reflect what other companies offer on their rigid fork 29″ers. As far as we are aware, no other geometry changes are in store for the XXIX.

Our take at Twenty Nine Inches on this development (if true) is mixed. We welcome a longer legged fork on the XXIX since in our experience, the previous short, beefy CroMoly legs on the XXIX fork were a bit too brutal. On the other hand we are wondering if the front end handling will be “helped” by including a longer offset on the new longer legged fork. One of the joys we experienced with the XXIX in ’07 was the snappy handling that the shorter axle to crown measurement, and resulting steeper head angle, imparted.

As far as the new “Deluxe” model, we are very curious about it. It promises to be a very nice steel frame, and well spec’ed. If it is as nice as it is rumored to be, we will not be surprised to see a price tag well north of 2G for such a rig. Especially considering the uptick in prices coming in 2009.

Stay tuned for more as we recieve word.

No Responses to “Raleigh '09 Rumors”

  1. Desert9r Says:

    (shakes head) I have just lost all hope for Raleigh, First the Banana Yellow and Smurf Blue eye sores, and now no more 440 fork and a bike so high-end that no one will buy it. I wish I could beat some sense into the guy(s) in charge.

  2. Cloxxki Says:

    “One of the joys we experienced with the XXIX in ‘07 was the snappy handling that the shorter axle to crown measurement, and resulting steeper head angle, imparted.”

    A causal relationship between fork length and head angle, on a stock bike?
    Were the XXIX vs XXIX+G frame geometries not corrected for the actual fork lengths used on them, then?
    In my understanding, angles are angles, no matter how they were obtained. Your words seem to imply geometry sheets might have been misleading?

    I seem to find XXIX is spec’d with a 72 degree HTA and 40mm offset, not much out o the ordinary. Might the snappy handling experienced have come from a low handlebar position, in part through that short fork? Or would the lack of any fork flex have brought that?

    I once contemplated the XXIX with a long axle-crown, long offset fork, for the “Jones” or “G2” experience, with subsequent reduced top tube/reach. If I were to ever do that, I better have my facts straight? 🙂

  3. Guitar Ted Says:

    Cloxxki: The XXIX+G and XXIX are the same frame geometry. Only the forks differ. I measured my stock XXIX+G with its Reba at an unsagged head angle of 70 degrees. Compare that to the XXIX and then I think you can see why my comment starts to make sense.

    I didn’t leave the Reba on long. I installed a Willits WOW fork with 44mm offset and haven’t looked back. 🙂

  4. captain bob Says:

    I owned a XXIX for a short time. I loved it and really miss it. The front end was a little low for me as I should have been on a large instead of a medium frame. I put a set of riser bars that brought me up higher than the oem bars and the handling was even better. Super quick but not at all twitchy.

    If I stil owned it I would have put a carbon fork on it by now, something with the 440mm though. Nothing longer.

    Hopefully the new tubes will ride as nice as the original. That frame is hard to beat when it comes to handling and comfort, at least for that kind of money.

    I do hope they scrap the Walt Dysney colors though. They need to look more aggressive like their first year.

  5. txronharris Says:

    I’m always up for one of the old guard trying something new. For a brand like Raleigh to go with a bling version of the 29er , it shows how legit 29ers have become to the more mainstream brands. I think them producing a “new” version of a bike that most everyone liked is a smart move. I’d like to suggest a retro paint job like the road racing bikes from the 80’s–that red, black and yellow team bike was cool as hell.

  6. martini Says:

    I loved the bold blue and yellow that Raliegh did. That and the really smart, low low key graphics. Almost brought them into the store instead of the main line I did. Cheers on them for raising the fork a bit. My rigid SS is stocked with a 490 fork. Nice and smooth, yet still nimble.

  7. Guitar Ted Says:

    martini: Well, I think you’ll approve of the ’09 colors and graphics. (I’ve seen ’em!) 🙂 Still changing up the graphics from year to year, which I find sort of curious, but the BMX inspired look for ’09 is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

