'09 Reba Update; Air U-Turn

When I was attending the SRAM press release at Sea Otter last month we got the formal introduction to the 2009 Reba in 26″ and 29″ versions. What we didn’t get was something Rock Shox honches were holding back because they weren’t sure of the timing.

Well, now it can be told that besides all of the other cool features on the ’09 Reba, the 120mm version will be available with a Air U-Turn option that will allow the rider to adjust the travel from 120mm to 90mm on the trail. This option will exist for both the 26 inch and 29 inch versions of the new 120mm travel Reba only. The expected time of availability on this version of the Reba is the end of June. (Hmm…maybe just in time for the Big Wheeled Ballyhoo? )

This option is a much asked for feature by 29″er riders and now it looks like it is just around the corner. It is worth noting that Niner Bikes does offer the current version of the Reba with a U-Turn feature that is exclusive to them. It would certainly have been odd had the new Reba not been offered with this option given the precedent set with the “Niner Reba”.

Look for this to be the hottest 29″er product of 2008. I figure that if I can get my grubby hands on one I’ll have a pretty good idea of what will be in the top five of my year end countdown list! Stay Tuned!

No Responses to “'09 Reba Update; Air U-Turn”

  1. GreenLightGo Says:

    Outstanding news.

  2. Cloxxki Says:

    Should be awesome for marathons!

    Any word what path RockShox will take with stock offsets?

  3. Guitar Ted Says:

    Cloxxki: Rebas will have a 46mm offset from here on out. Also hearing that the Tora will be offered in a 29″er “Race” version, quite possibly with the old 38mm offset, which would make sense from a marketing standpoint.

  4. Cloxxki Says:

    Thanks for the skinny, GT.
    46mm is HOT for a 2009 fork! Many bikes will be boosted by an 80mm Reba, or tuned with a 100mm/46.

    Amazing how Fisher’s move to Fox and 51mm offset has turned around fork country so much.

    Imagine you have a 72degree HTA hardtail at 80mm travel, like most of them were made 2003-2007. You were using 38/39mm forks.
    The 80mm 2009 Reba will make a neutral feeling bike, a tight singletrack monster.
    If you want to re-flavour the ride, go 100mm for an almost Genesis2 experience.
    And boy, at 120mm…low BB’s would for sure be turned around. Steering goes from sketchy to old skool relaxed but sharp.
    And the U-Turn does it all to the same frame, sortof.

    If one hates one’s Karate Monkey’s low BB…more long fork choices that rule!

    I would have liked if the UT range could have been longer. Like 60-120mm for instance. Make bikes even more versatile, and capable on long steep hills.

  5. LyNx Says:

    Oh Snap, poor bike shops will now be flooded with pre orders for this fork (I got my order in already :-D) Took RS long enough to finally produce this “Holy Grail” of forks that the 29er crowd has been seeking now for a very long time.

  6. mg Says:

    Yeah, I’ll believe the June date when I see it… Maybe for rock stars like Guitar Ted, but for normal guys like me? Riiiiiiight… That said, I’m hoping to have a new dualie around that timeframe that this new fork would be a perfect fit for, so if their timing is correct, man, that’d be awfully sweet!!

    Even at an adjustability range of 90-120mm, I think U-turn is a great addition to the fork, and it’ll probably pull me into buying one simply to have it. The Maxle is also a strong draw for me, as at 120mm, I’d like to have a more precise steering fork than the current Reba, or heck, even my current QR-type Manitou Minute for that matter. I’ll take a little extra weight for the stiffness, no problem…

    Thanks for the update!

  7. Guitar Ted Says:

    mg: Me? A rock star? Ha ha! More like a shotgun shack blues picker, maybe. 😉

    I heard that it’s a done dealio for late June. That’s why they didn’t say anything at Sea Otter. They had no idea exactly when it would be out, so they just didn’t say anything! 🙂 Now they are sure it’s on the way, so the news was leaked to a source of mine. 😉 Rock Shox gave the green light for spreading the news, so this is for real.

  8. Shiny Flu Says:

    Just as people were saying “my Reba will be on eBay,” my Fox is going on fleaBay 😀 (I’ve always preferred Motion Control anyways).

  9. Shiny Flu Says:

    Just as last year when people were saying “You’ll be able to find my Reba on eBay.” my Fox will be on fleaBay 😀 I’ve always liked Motion Control much more than the LC circuit anyway.

  10. Glenn Says:

    Woohoo! Time to start saving for a new Reba for my ’06 X-Cal.

  11. Brendan Says:

    Hell yeah! Great news indeed..

  12. mg Says:

    lol… yeah, you, mr. rock star!!!

    that truly is great news that it’s gonna’ be available in june, because it’s got the right mix of features. i suspect it’ll be another great seller for rockshox.

  13. Dirt McGirt Says:

    WOOOOHOOOO!!!!

    That kicks much ass right there. I tell you what.

  14. Kosmo Says:

    Any idea if the u-turn Reba will be available in QR?

    I’ve got too many nice wheels to convert to TA!

  15. Brandon Lockwood Says:

    Ted,

    Any chance you have heard any new word on when the 09 Rebas will be dropping??!! I can’t wait! Thanks

    Brandon

  16. Guitar Ted Says:

    Brandon: It can’t be long now. Companies are getting their hands on production versions already for show bikes and special builds.

    I haven’t heard a specific date, but if I find out, I’ll post that info.

  17. Brandon Says:

    Thanks Ted I can’t wait!! My new Black Sheep ST Highlight is being built to the new 09 Reba specs….!!!

  18. Guitar Ted Says:

    john: “The expected time of availability on this version of the Reba is the end of June.”

    Hmm………doesn’t look like I said that “I predicted” anything, just passing along what I was told by SRAM. 😉 As you may or may not know, “expected availability” times in the bicycle business are nebulous much of the time. Sometimes it’s right on, sometimes not.

    The bottom line is that it’s coming.

  19. Guitar Ted Says:

    john:
    I’d say SRAM was a pretty good source. 😉 Regardlesss you must not understand the cycling industry. These sorts of things are commonplace. I could list several instances from several publications. Even regarding this particular instance.

    Look, if you are severely disappointed that you don’t have this fork, your negativity is misdirected here.

    And while I’m at it, just this weekend I have heard that the U-Turn feature is not going to happen at all now. Source? A pretty dang good one, but one I can not reveal publicly. Take that for what it’s worth.

  20. Guitar Ted Says:

    john: Well, I have no idea why you are so ticked off at me, and why you feel you need to use personal attacks to try to make some vague point here. I invite you to e-mail me at g.ted.productions@gmail.com to give me the “real” reasons you are posting this tripe, since you are finding it too hard to post it publicly.

    And by the way, it’s xl, maybe you need a better source? 😉

  21. dblspeed Says:

    Hey Guitar Ted, any news on the u-turn Reba? Thanks

    😉

  22. Guitar Ted Says:

    dblspeed: I have heard that they are due in some warehouses soon, but with the difficulties companies are having getting raw materials, with pricing, and with other technical snafus, I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that the date gets pushed back again.

    I hope to have a clearer picture of things shortly.

  23. GreenLightGo Says:

    good things come to those who wait – GT – please keep us updated on what you hear. Bummer on the U-turn though…

  24. dblspeed Says:

    Thanks Guitar Ted. What’s up with the U-turn though? Any ideas on msrp?

  25. Guitar Ted Says:

    dblspeed: I would also like to know the answers here. A couple of observations: First of all, the prices on everything in cycling are in a state of constant flux right now. With everybody trending their pricing “northward”, I would expect that the new Reba will retail at about what Fox is getting for their ’09 product.

    As for U-Turn, I am sure that it was scuttled just to get the forks out to OEMs for their ’09 line ups. Having U-Turn on their plates to do too maybe ended up being too much after all. Remember, they didn’t announce it at Sea Otter for fear that it wasn’t going to happen. Now those fears seem to have become reality.

    A final note: The new Reba is starting to pop up on some photos of new ’09 product, so I believe that SRAM is delivering them to OEMs first and that there just isn’t anything in the pipeline for aftermarket………yet. I’ll bet it won’t be much longer though. Unfortunately, this is all just my speculating and if it does come true, it’ll be too late for much ’08 riding for many.

  26. Brandon Lockwood Says:

    So I have been trying to get answers to my questions since I got back from Sea Otter and today I just recieved this from SRAM:

    Hello Brandon-
    I was forwarded your email to answer some questions about the 2009 Rebas. I copied and pasted your questions at the bottom for reference.
    1. The expected date for Reba with maxle lite in Mid September.
    2.4. Yes, it will be available in an air u-turn option in white, silver and black. Dual Air or Air U-turn
    3. We do have an Employee Purchase program, it’s handled through QBP. It is a percentage off of the their price.
    Any other questions let me know,
    Regards,
    Tim Jones
    SRAM Dealer Service USA
    tjones@sram.com
    800.346.2928 ext. 1394

    My questions to SRAM:
    1. When will it hit the shelves?
    2. Will it be available in a U-turn option?
    3. I work for REI in their central bike assembly facility as a bike mech and moonlight at another shop in Seattle, can I employee pro deal a fork?
    4. Will the Team 29er 120 be available in silver? Speciffically I am looking for the Team 29er 120mm maxle lite (u-turn if available) in silver!

    ENJOY

  27. Guitar Ted Says:

    Brandon: Thanks for that update. I appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

