Long Travel 29"er Prognostications

Hey, I bet if you are a regular reader of this site you are already groaning. “Not another long travel 29″er rant!” Well, not so much a rant, but some observations for you.

I know that I have been beating the drums for these bikes for quite some time now and I also know that many of you think the idea is lame, unworkable, or totally unnescessary. Well, a couple of developements that are becoming realities are pointing to something I think is a coming trend. The long travel 29″er is nigh, and will be rolling trails in your neck of the woods soon!

As we have reported from Sea Otter, the Reba will be available in a 120mm format. Rumors are rampant that Fox will also be on board with a 120mm 29″er fork in ’09 if not before. Certainly, this is maybe not “long travel” in your mind, but the boundaries are being pushed outwards and if the current in developement trail bikes make a big enough dent, I wouldn’t be surprised to see 135-140mm travel 29″er forks coming out afterwards. Of course, you already can own a 135mm travel White Brothers fork, so it’s not like it isn’t a possibility.

Tires and wheels are already coming on line to match up with this category, so all the pieces are coming in place for a long travel revolution in 29″ers very soon now.

Trail bikes with 120mm travel and 29 inch wheels? Yeah, it’s right around the corner and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

No Responses to “Long Travel 29"er Prognostications”

  1. mg Says:

    Amen brother! Keep singin’ that tune, ‘cuz you know that’s what I’ve been thinking for quite a while now. I’m still waiting patiently for my new mid-travel bike, but once I get that, I know I’ll be jonesin’ hard for something burlier. An xc racer is fine for xc racing, but when the bumps or rocks get huge, there’s no substitute for travel, big wheels or no. I can’t wait ’til we’re able to pack six and six. Sign me up. Not for everyday… but for some days, damn straight.

    You know what I’m talkin’ about. We’re on the same page.

    Cheers,

  2. Mike Says:

    I’m glad long travel 29″ wheeled bikes are coming from more sources. Where there’s demand, supply usually follows. Maybe I’ll even try one some day. For me the attraction to big wheeled bikes was the fact that a hardtail with either rigid or 80mm fork is a very smooth riding bike. The move from 26″ wheels with various forms of suspension to the simplicity and great riding characteristics of a rigid 29er attracted me. It’s hard to find a nice steel hardtail 26″ wheel complete bike as the manufacturers have all moved to full-suspension. I hope the coming of the longer travel big wheeled bikes doesn’t sound the death knell for the style of bike that put the 29er in the hearts of all of us. Don’t think it will and as birthdays roll past, I too will find myself asking Guitar Ted for advice on a longer travel bike 😉

  3. MC Says:

    Just saw that WB 150mm travel forks came available at BTI. That’s right–6″ travel 29″ forks are available to the masses.

    Life is good.

    MC

  4. Desert9r Says:

    Ok, its coming, so so where is the 29f/24r DH rig?

  5. Desert9r Says:

    the thing that irritates me is that, before you know it, the 80mm fork won’t even be made, claiming the 120mm+ forks are “an advancement in 29er tech”.

  6. GreenLightGo Says:

    desert9r – good point

  7. Davidcopperfield Says:

    I wanna a Nomad 29er from Santa Cruz with Rampages. As simple as that. SC do not f*** with us don’t linger too much 😀

  8. Guitar Ted Says:

    Mike; Desert9r: I don’t foresee the 80mm travel front suspended hardtail 29″er going anywhere. I think that it might become a predominantly aluminum framed 29″er, for some very obvious reasons. Of course, the small builders will also keep that market alive.

    MC: I had wondered when that would be made available through a distributor. Good news!

    mg: Yeah….you and me are probably both chompin’ at the bit over …………..something! 😉

    Can’t wait to see that hit the trails!

  9. carl Says:

    i want to see a bullit 29er!!

  10. Davidcopperfield Says:

    @ Carl
    “i want to see a bullit 29er!!”
    I’ll second that thought

  11. Steve Says:

    This’ll go a long way to reduce the suckiness of long-travel 26ers and destroy the benefits of 29er.

    Great, take a fast-rolling wheel format and bog it down with a lot of suspension and huge, multi-ply tires.

    And wait for people to complain about how the wheels aren’t holding up… or that the durable 29er wheels are too heavy. Whaaaaa!

    29 has it’s benefits, and I predict that long-travel ain’t it’s strength… at least until we get much wider hubs.

    Or I could be totally wrong.

Leave a Reply

