SUNRingle Charger : First Impressions

Finally last week the Chargers were able to be mounted up with the Pacenti Neo Moto tires on the new Salsa Ala Carte. 3 laps later at my local 6 mile loop I had gotten everything I had come to see for the day.

The rims were awesome. They took every licking I threw at them. Running full rigid can be very tough on rims – ESPECIALLY when you run your tires at super low air pressure. There were a few questions left in my mind about the wheels themselves but being in my shop with the proper tools would be needed.

Taking them home I took the wheels off the bike to be ready to ship. The questions I had were for the tension and spokes. Taking my tension meter to the spokes on both sides of both wheels what I thought was true. The tension was super high on the spokes for a all mountain, double butted, 3 cross, wheel. From my understanding the wheels were built at SUNRingle but the tension easily could have been adjusted between them and me. Regretfully I had to re box the wheels before playing with tension and riding them again.

With the limited time I played on these wheels I enjoyed them. The rear freehub was great and the tires mounted easily. Other than the tension the build was very strong with even tension around and proper lacing.

No Responses to “SUNRingle Charger : First Impressions”

  1. Jason Says:

    Do you know what hub they use on that wheel? I’ve read some good things about their hubs since they redesigned them a year or so ago. I had been looking at a 29er set – price was right, but just wasn’t sure about durability since there weren’t many out on the trails.

  2. Arleigh Says:

    Jason –

    I fwd along your question to SUN but haven’t heard an answer back yet. I’ll give them a ring if I dont hear something soon!

Leave a Reply

