Pivot Cycles To Introduce A 29"er?

Pivot Cycles, the company headed by suspension guru Chris Cocalis, has been rumored to have been toying with the idea of introducing a 29 inch wheeled version of it’s “DW link” suspension bikes.

Now I’m hearing that this will be a reality sometime in 2008. My source says that Pivot will introduce a “four +” inch travel 29″er using the DW Link design. Supposedly this rig will be making its debut at Sea Otter in April. The scuttlebutt is that these new 29″ers will be available perhaps by June.

Pivot Cycles has incredible attention to detail on their bikes and also some technological advancements that will be cutting edge not only in the 29″er world, but in full suspension bikes in general. Most notable of these is their adoption of the press in “outboard” bearing technology first seen on road bikes. The 93mm bottom bracket shell gives designers much more surface area to attach the downtube to which increases strength and stiffness. Added to this is the bolt on front derailluer, another idea borrowed and modified from road bikes, that allows the designer to manipulate the bottom bracket/seat tube area without regard for a clamp on front derailluer mount. Another technological leap that I wouldn’t be surprised to find making it’s way onto a Pivot full suspension 29″er would be the new tapered steer tube technology being offered by Fox for ’09 bikes. That might not make an appearance on this new Pivot bike just yet, but I’d be surprised if it doesn’t in the future.

Twenty Nine Inches will be looking for this bike at Sea Otter. Look for our Sea Otter coverage starting April 15th.

No Responses to “Pivot Cycles To Introduce A 29"er?”

  1. Sevo Says:

    Sounds interesting saw one of their little wheel bikes at the local shop-very nice. Only thing I’m going to challenge here is calling Chris a “suspension guru”. He doesn’t have any patents and with Titus and Pivot he’s using someone elses designs and licensing. Great contributer to our sport? Yup. Suspension Guru? That’s a wee bit of a stretch.

  2. Guitar Ted Says:

    Sevo: Hmm…semantics. Just having patents doesn’t make you a “guru”, necessarily. My using the term was to indicate that Chris Cocalis recognizes something that will work when he sees it, not that he “invented” anything. Knowledge is power, as they say, and generally that’s what you go to a “guru” for. 😉

    At any rate, having a DW Link 29″er should be a pretty big deal, and I am excited to check this out.

  3. AC Says:

    I’ll be at Sea Otter, so I hope it’s there…

    GT, I’d like to meet you at Sea Otter. Are you guys going to have both or are you just going to be roaming?

  4. AC Says:

    typo:
    “…going to have a booth …”

  5. Guitar Ted Says:

    AC: No, Twenty Nine Inches won’t have a booth at the expo. We are there as working media to cover the goings on. I’ll be there carrying a soiled Bontrager messenger bag in blue, most likely. Taking pics and yakking with folks. If you see me, just step up and say “hi”. 🙂 My visage is on the Crooked Cog Networks home page: http://crookedcog.com/ if you need a visual. (Hint: I have more facial hair these days!) 🙂

  6. Dirt McGirt Says:

    I still think that a “fully” 29er is overkill. Then again I am a firm believer that fullies make poor riders… but I am pretty old school in that aspect….

  7. Desert9r Says:

    To me this is just ANother company coming out with a 29er, But I wonder how the the DW Link compares to Felt Bicycles Equilink?

  8. Big T Says:

    Sevo : Word. Cocalis is overated Ive known the Titus boys here in Tempe AZ for years Cocalis is a blow hard, and the new pivot design blows even harder. Two words “Heavy” and “Goofy” I can only assume the 29 versions will be Heavier and Goofier. The Pivot FS design looks like a knock off of Ironhorse http://www.pivotcycles.com/bikes.php http://www.ironhorsebikes.com/bikes/azure/ Goofy and Goofy. Never been impressed with a DW link ride. Maybe just a personal prefrence like Dirt likes his rigid.

    I might also add no water bottle mounts?

  9. Matty Says:

    The reason why it looks like an Iron Horse is because Pivot is a direct descendant of both Titus and Iron Horse. Chris Cocalis and Dave Weagle tag teamed to create Pivot Cycles. Maybe Cocalis isnt a suspension guru, but nobody can dispute that Dave Weagle isnt and the man knows how to create a quality ride with creating Evil Cycles and E13.

  10. Dirt McGirt Says:

    7 Desert9r on Mar 11th, 2008 at 10:55 am

    To me this is just ANother company coming out with a 29er, But I wonder how the the DW Link compares to Felt Bicycles Equilink?

    Do you ride around with nearly flat tires?

    Do you de-tension your wheels so that they give you that articulated feel?

    Then look no further, here’s Felt Virtue!

    YAY! 😀

  11. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Noodle-y at best Felt Virtue.

    nugga nugga nooch.

    good day to you all.

  12. N2theFAD Says:

    In response to the “Blow Hard” “non guru” comments. I know CC fairly well and it’s not that he designs these suspension systems, but he has an understanding of them that is off the map. He takes these designs, tweaks them and then builds awesome riding bikes within these designers patent perameters. These bikes are built to his specifications on materials, geometry, finish and of course his custom suspension curves and custom valved shocks to boot. Whether he is the best is pure opinion, but he most defintely has a mastery over his art. Bottom line is they do what they’re built to do and the DW link with the Pivot rates, and design aspects will probably make the best riding and coolest big wheeled bikes around. I’m stoked to ride one of these things.

  13. Big T Says:

    DW will still suck even after CC touchs it with his “magic wand”. Did the demo of a pivot mach4 equiped with new xt out at south maountain here in phoenix, the best description I can give is. Pigish, Lumbering, and Heavy. The SMC guy said it weighed in at about 27-28 lbs on a 26inch wheel platform, and cost about $5000 for the xt model. Again CC is a great Salesman and Showman but at some point you have to sell a 29-31 lb, made in taiwan, FS 29er that under performs for $5000.
    My point; its a tough sell, and a tall mountain to climb for the golden tongued CC.

  14. N2theFAD Says:

    Does the “T” in Big T stand for Titus?

    Just kidding, everyone is entitled to their opinion. I’ve owned hard tails, single pivot bikes, a couple dual pivot, horst link and even no pivot/flex suspension (don’t know what I was thinking) and I still think the DW I have is superior. Obviously it’s just not for everyone.

  15. Big T Says:

    How about making your point as it relates to the virtues of Pivot bikes vs’s Ad Hoc statment’s about my user name. But im glad you got Jokes.

    So the earth shattering innovations from Pivot are, Integrated Bottom Bracket, Oversize 7075-T6 aluminum tubing, 8 bearing DW Link, Cocalis developed suspension rates, and Direct mount Front Derailleur. All this courtesy of Pivot cycle’s web site.

    Integrated BB’s have been around for years with Cannondale, 7075 tubing has been used by probably every manufacturer ever, The DW is limited by the weight penalty, and a tendancy to be harsh under hard braking. The Opinion that the DW is Superior, is definatley a minority opinion. As for Cocalis developed suspension rates; its all smoke in mirrors. Cocalis tells Fox shox what he needs, they send prototypes he rides them out on south mountain and decides which one he wants to spec on his bikes.

    So that leaves the direct mount front derailuer as the Pivots crowning acheivment. Which doesnt sound like a horrible Idea since road bikes have been doing it for years.

  16. N2theFAD Says:

    I have more jokes, but obvioulsy you have no sense of humor to appreciate them OH mighty bike snob.
    I actually think the DW is far from harsh under braking and I think it pedals better than any other FS design out there. But that’s my opinion just, like you have yours.
    And yes, Fox does make the shocks to order, but that would make them “custom”. The other innovations are cool, and even if other people have been using them (past tense) who else is doing it now? These “innovations” might not be setting the world on fire, but they’re forward thinking and they work and they’re available. It’s obviously not for you, nuff said.
    Go enjoy your haterade as my koolaid is probably more refreshing.

  17. Big T Says:

    N2theFAD: You have yet to make a valid point on the virtues of the DW link. Dont cover for DW by saying its a preference thing either, debate the merits of the bike. There is nothing new, or better about the Pivot Bikes. Phrase’s like “Forward Thinking” and “Innovative Design” imply there is something new and better about these bikes, which just isnt true. Cannondale is using integrated BBs allready. Ironshorse, and Felt are allready using DW link’s. Almost every bike maker on the planet does use or has used T-6 aluminum to build bikes. Specialized is using a Direct mount Front Derailleur on their stumpjumper FSR’s. So If all of this stuff is allready being used please help me understand what exactly Pivot has “Innovated”? Without making “Straw man” arguments.

  18. Thunderlump Says:

    N2theFAD: “Straw Man” arguments dont prove your right. Why dont you just say the guy eats “hater tots” that will get him.

    As for Pivot and “True Innovation” lets analyze the facts.
    1. Specialized uses Direct mount Front Derailleur’s on their Stumpy’s.
    2. Cannondale has used integrated BB’s for years.
    3. Most manufacturers have used t-6 Aluminum on one or more models over the years
    4. Ironhorse and Felt also employ the DW link.
    5. The DW design is a heavier frame product.

    Maybe CC thinks including all of these components into a package equals innovation, but if the bikes weighs more than its competition, and costs more than the competition. I fail to see the value.

  19. N2theFAD Says:

    Okay the frame costs like 1900.00 which by comparison is a very similar price point to its other direct competiors like the Blur, ASr or Racer X and the frame weighs a little over 5 lbs. Last time I checked these other two frames I mentioned weigh about the same, unless you’re talking about the carbon frames which are also more $$$. So the weight vs. value arguement is void.
    As for performance it works. The suspension works extremely well without the pro pedal feature on. The BB is very stiff and the bike pushes extremely well through turns and under severe braking I feel I can brake later in the turn without losing control.
    The suspension is also more active than any other bike I’ve tested without paying a “bob” penalty when climbing.
    When comparing it to a Vpp or other dual pivot bikes like a SC I owned the rockers/pivots move in the same direction putting less load on bearings, making for a longer lasting, more maintenance free product as well as smoother travel through the bikes travel. Also the bike isn’t reliant on chain torque as my SC was and feels to pedal smoother through choppy terrain. I get no negative return when the bike moves through its travel.
    As for the bells and whistles like the front der and the BB, I just think it’s cool that the frame is one simple system. My chain line was perfect out of the box, the cranks slid right in like my high school prom night. The BB doesn’t need cups or anything fancy…just works. These to me are just cool finish work and I don’t have to use an Si crank either.
    Like I said in my last three posts. The system works for me and I like it (my opinion) if it’s not for you then so be it. I’m on board enjoying my kool-aid and I’ll probably add the 29r to the fleet to go with my rigid 29 and my fs pivot. I think the efficiency of the DW and the frame stiffness will translate into a great riding 29r. If I’m wrong there’s always ebay.

  20. N2theFAD Says:

    Okay the frame costs like 1900.00 which by comparison is a very similar price point to its other direct competiors like the Blur, ASr or Racer X and the frame weighs a little over 5 lbs. Last time I checked these other two frames I mentioned weigh about the same, unless you’re talking about the carbon frames which are also more $$$. So the weight vs. value arguement is void.
    As for performance it works. The suspension works extremely well without the pro pedal feature on. The BB is very stiff and the bike pushes extremely well through turns and under severe braking I feel I can brake later in the turn without losing control.
    The suspension is also more active than any other bike I’ve tested without paying a “bob” penalty when climbing.
    When comparing it to a Vpp or other dual pivot bikes like a SC I owned the rockers/pivots move in the same direction putting less load on bearings, making for a longer lasting, more maintenance free product as well as smoother travel through the bikes travel. Also the bike isn’t reliant on chain torque as my SC was and feels to pedal smoother through choppy terrain. I get no negative return when the bike moves through its travel.
    As for the bells and whistles like the front der and the BB, I just think it’s cool that the frame is one simple system. My chain line was perfect out of the box, the cranks slid right in with no hassle. The BB doesn’t need cups or anything fancy…just works. These to me are just cool finish work and I don’t have to use an Si crank either.
    Like I said in my last three posts. The system works for me and I like it (my opinion) if it’s not for you then so be it. I’m on board enjoying my kool-aid and I’ll probably add the 29r to the fleet to go with my rigid 29 and my fs pivot. I think the efficiency of the DW and the frame stiffness will translate into a great riding 29r. If I’m wrong there’s always ebay.

  21. N2theFAD Says:

    ?

Leave a Reply

