Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products of '07: RST M-29 Suspension Fork

Editors Note: Yeah, yeah…..another year end review! Tis the season! So, here are my favorite things that have passed through the Twenty Nine Inches review process during the past year. I want to point out a few parameters that I used for what I chose here.

1. The product had to be in the review process during the time period of December 2006 through to the end of November 2007. Reviews that are currently in process I did not include and will be eligible for my 2008 Top Ten list.

2. They had to be products or bicycles that I personally used during this period. Nothing any of the other Twenty Nine Inches staff reviewed on their own could be considered for my list. This list doesn’t necessarily reflect the opinions of anyone but me, Guitar Ted.

That said, let’s get on with this……
RST M-29 Fork in white

Number One: RST M-29 Suspension Fork. RST wasn’t on most folks radar when it came to suspension forks for 29″ers and it was a bit of a surprise to Twenty Nine Inches when we heard about it. We got our mits on one of the M-29 forks late in the spring and thrashed it throughout the rest of the year. It became quite clear that this wasn’t the RST I knew before.

Why it made the list: First and foremost, the fork just plain works well. That is something that needs to be stressed here. Even if it wasn’t an RST product, this fork at under $350.00 retail is such a great value and works so well for what it is that I just would have to put it on the list. Add to that the fact that this is one fork in the line of new stuff from RST that should turn the image of the company around and you have nothing short of a smash hit on your hands.

My Two Cents: This is the best bang-for-your-buck 29″er product of 2007 by a long shot. With suspension performance that rivals forks twice the price and lateral stiffness that is better than the category leading Reba, the RST M-29 is an attention getter. Then you have the ability to run cantilever brakes, (for those disc brake hold outs amongst us), a choice of 80mm or 100mm travel options, and a choice of either a pearly white or black color for the magnesium sliders which puts it over the top value-wise. Solid performance, options, and a low price for all of it adds up to the Number One status for 2007 on my Top Ten 29″er Products list.

That’s it folks! The Top Ten 29″er Products as I tested them for 2007. I hope you enjoyed that. Now I am looking ahead to 2008 and already I have some stellar choices that will most likely end up on the list for the next time I do this. 2008 looks to be an exciting year for 29″er freaks. Happy New Year!

Tags:

No Responses to “Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products of '07: RST M-29 Suspension Fork”

  1. Glenn Says:

    Doesn’t this have a 44mm offset or so? Something greater than the 38mm of the Rebas? That would be good for those of us with the old Fishers.

  2. Guitar Ted Says:

    Glenn: Yes, it has 44mm offset.

  3. GreenLightGo Says:

    I was wondering if this would make the list – I’m glad to see it appear anywhere in the top 10 but number 1 is outstanding. I just did some seasonal maintenance on mine after almost 1000 miles on my Rook and I continue to be amazed at the performance and value.

    Thanks GT for a no-nonsense top 10, stuff that works!

  4. Dirt McGirt Says:

    RST and favorite in the same sentence? Weird…. It’s usually “low-end” and RST in the same sentence!

  5. Guitar Ted Says:

    Dirt McGirt: Exactly! 😉 That’s part of what was so cool about the M-29……..it worked and worked well! 🙂

  6. Tbone Says:

    GT,

    I’ve been running one of these for awhile and want to see about having mine rebuilt. Can you tell me who and how to contact there at RST? I’ve emailed mult times and haven’t heard a thing. My shop tells me the RST forks are “not serviceable.” Thanks for any help.
    t

  7. GreenLightGo Says:

    Tbone – I have a set of service instructions for the RST M-29. The 5 or 6 models RST has on in their new lineup (Titan, M-29, etc) are serviceable. The low end RSTs you get on a bike from a box store is not serviceable.

    I don’t know how readily available parts are such as wiper seals, etc. I pulled mine apart after 1200 miles and did a fluid change using some fresh Silkolene 15wt and it made a good difference, the original fluid was pretty well hashed by that point. No need to replace any of the seals on mine, just re-lubed them with some light grease (I used Buzzy’s Slick Honey but Prep-M would be fine too).

    I kind of chronicled the experience on the MTBR 29’er pages – if you can’t find the info, post back (I’m subscribed to this page for updates) and I’ll dig it up.

  8. StompinStu Says:

    So anyone know where to scrounge one of these up? Seem to have disappeared totally. Looks like RST is out of the 29er market. I have one on my Bandersnatch. Am building another 29er now that will become my primary ride. Don’t want to part the Snatch, but I might have to to get this fork and make the Snatch a rigid.

  9. Guitar Ted Says:

    @ StompinStu: RST got a big OEM contract from Haro for ’09 and the fork disappeared shortly after that as an aftermarket piece. Not sure if the two events are related but……

    At any rate, I see RST has a new version coming out called the Duece and will be available on Cannondale 29″ers, and I am assuming other companies 29″ers as well. I have no idea on the aftermarket for these.

    I’m betting some upgraders will be trying to sell the new Duece forks once they come out and I would keep an eye on Craigslist and E-bay in the future if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

