Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products of '07: Velocity Blunt Rims

Editors Note: Yeah, yeah…..another year end review! Tis the season! So, here are my favorite things that have passed through the Twenty Nine Inches review process during the past year. I want to point out a few parameters that I used for what I chose here.

1. The product had to be in the review process during the time period of December 2006 through to the end of November 2007. Reviews that are currently in process I did not include and will be eligible for my 2008 Top Ten list.

2. They had to be products or bicycles that I personally used during this period. Nothing any of the other Twnty Nine Inches staff reviewed on their own could be considered for my list. This list doesn’t necessarily reflect the opinions of anyone but me, Guitar Ted.

That said, let’s get on with this……
Velocity Blunt rims on Deore XT disc hubset

Number Eight: Velocity Blunt 29″er Rims. Velocity has been making some great rim extrusions for years now. Their Dyad model was an early adoption amongst 29″er fans, but Velocity saw the need for a disc specific 29″er hoop and came out with the Blunt rim in early ’07. Twenty Nine Inches had a pair built up on some XT disc hubs and gave them a whirl.

Why it makes the list: I thought the design and timing of the release on the Blunt were both brilliant. There wasn’t a really great, solid contender for the Salsa Delgado Disc rim out yet and the Blunt was a mile better than the Dyad. Released in a matte-ish black and silver, the Blunt was slam dunk in the looks department, especially since you could easily peel off the billboard stickers that came with them stock. But all that pales in the crucible of off road riding. I think the Blunt performs admirably there and certainly did well for me.

My Two Cents: The Blunt is a “typical” Velocity product in that it is a bit on the “soft” side but builds up a workman-like wheelset that should perform with satisfactory results if built by a competent wheel smith. Some might turn their noses up at the Blunt for the lack of eyelets on a disc specific rim, but in my experience the Velocity spoke bed seems to hold up rather well. Extra points for the silver offering. Not necessarily a “bling” choice for a rim from a weight or looks viewpoint, just a decent looking piece that works and works well.

Look for Number Seven on the Top Ten Favorite 29″er Products of ’07 coming up next!

Tags:

No Responses to “Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products of '07: Velocity Blunt Rims”

  1. Desert9r Says:

    I just put a Glide WS on my Jake and Love em, I can’t wait to get the Blunts! Do you think they will contend with the Gordo ?

  2. Guitar Ted Says:

    Desert9r: Great question! Actually the Semi would be the comparable model here. The Semi will be 30mm wide versus the 28mm wide Velocity Blunt.

    In my view, the Semi, if it lives up to all expectations, should be a superior product here. For instance, the seam on the Semi will be a welded seam, their will be spoke hole eyelets, and the rim will incorporate a bead lock which was designed to help give 29″er tires a more secure fit for low pressure usage. The bead lock design is also said to help retain the bead interface in case of a flat. All things that in my opinion are desirable traits in a rim and things the Velocity Blunt does not have.

    If the Semi builds up as nicely or better than a Blunt, you can guess one of the products that will most likely show up on the ’08 list. 😉

    FYI: The Gordo is even wider at 35mm. Same design features as the Semi.

    That said, the Blunt is still a solid product.

  3. Desert9r Says:

    Ever sincr hearing the with of the Gordo I have wanted it…

    I bike full time, a while back I got the Axiom Odyssee 50kg rack, fully loaded down it does unkind things to my Speed disc, so I figured I would make a hauling set up with a Weirwolf on a Gordo, got the Weirwolf, no Gordo, so I mounted it on a speed disc, measures 2.1/2.2, I want 36h. Gordo, Semi or Blunt?

  4. Teddy29 Says:

    Why dont they make 29er wheels with hubs that have larger flange’s on them? This would reduce the lenght of the spoke making the rim more durable like a 26inchg wheel.

  5. JasonDoubleU Says:

    How do these compare in stiffness to the new crop of wide rims? Specifically a nearly direct competition to the new Salsa Semi?

  6. JasonDoubleU Says:

    Ummmm, forget it. I’m not that good of a reader!!!

Leave a Reply

