Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products of '07: Geax Saguaro 29"er Tire

Editors Note: Yeah, yeah…..another year end review! Tis the season! So, here are my favorite things that have passed through the Twenty Nine Inches review process during the past year. I want to point out a few parameters that I used for what I chose here.

1. The product had to be in the review process during the time period of December 2006 through to the end of November 2007. Reviews that are currently in process I did not include and will be eligible for my 2008 Top Ten list.

2. They had to be products or bicycles that I personally used during this period. Nothing any of the other Twnty Nine Inches staff reviewed on their own could be considered for my list. This list doesn’t necessarily reflect the opinions of anyone but me, Guitar Ted.

That said, let’s get on with this……
Geax Saguaro in the mud

Number Seven: Geax Saguaro 29″er Tire. Geax has been making some fine mountain bike tires for awhile now, but this tire was their first foray into the 29″er field. We got our mits on some Saguaros for some early season testing in ’07.

Why it makes the list: The Geax tire was a great all-rounder for our Mid-West conditions. Not particularly outstanding at any one thing, this tire impressed me with what conditions you could make it work in. The weight was decent, cornering grip was pretty good, but in the end, the tread wear, which was minimal, put this tire over the top as one I would choose if I could only buy one set of tires for an entire year.

My Two Cents: While Geax called this tire a 2.20″, I thought that was a bit generous. I’d make it a true 2.1″ tire, but with that said, the tire performed admirably in a wide variety of conditions. As stated above, the long wearing tread was a welcomed thing, especially if you have pavement to the trail head riding. I thought that for a first outing in the 29″er tire world, the Geax Saguaro was a smart all-rounder that should work for a lot of riders. I liked it and I would highly recommend it.

Look for Number Six on the list coming up right after Christmas.

Tags:

No Responses to “Top Ten Favorite 29"er Products of '07: Geax Saguaro 29"er Tire”

  1. GreenLightGo Says:

    good choice, glad to see these made the list.

    Merry Christmas.

  2. Captain bob Says:

    glad it made the list also. if i had a list it would be on there too.

  3. Steve Says:

    Where can we buy Geax tires? I only see them OEM out here.

  4. Guitar Ted Says:

    Steve, Try your local bike shop and tell them that QBP might have them or to try with Bike Mine, who is geax’s U.S. distributor.

  5. Steve Says:

    Ted, you’re right, these are available through Quality, so just about anyone has access to them. Great looking tire, I’m glad it’s not just skinwall-deep.

  6. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Steve, the answer should have been second nature. You ALWAYS should check your LBS first. ALWAYS! I brotha has to eat, afterall! DANG!

  7. Moondoggy Says:

    Add me to the Saguaro believers list… I just took this tire out for a spin- wow. I have it mounted on the rear with a Specialized Reso on the front.

    This tire is fast, and has cushion and traction galore. I was a fan of Geax tires back in 26 inch wheeled days, I rode the Sedona for years. this tire reminds of why I was and am a fan of their products. This tire just feels right, a great combination on traction,light weight , speed and cushion. FYI, I’m in Phoenix so my environs are dry, rocky desert. I can’t speak to the durability of the tire, as I’ve only taken it out once. It’s so good to be back on Geax tires ! 🙂

    It feels like the WTB Weirwolf 2.55 LT without the tractor-like weight and feel.

    How do they ride as a front tire- anyone ?

  8. Moondoggy Says:

    Post script.

    Contrary to others, this tire actually seems larger than it’s stated size. It makes my Specialized Resolution look puny. I dunno, maybe it’s another case of the “incredibly stretching tire”… 🙂

  9. Guitar Ted Says:

    Moondoggy: We here in the Mid-West like ’em alot. They do work pretty well as a front tire too. Tubeless isn’t a problem either, although a future version is due out that will have the TNT system, (Tube, no tube) from Geax.

    We’re hoping to see another Geax model come out, and we’re hearing rumors to that effect, but nothing solid as of yet.

  10. Moondoggy Says:

    Guitar Ted,

    Quote

    “We’re hoping to see another Geax model come out, and we’re hearing rumors to that effect, but nothing solid as of yet.”

    Fingers crossed here as well. These guys don’t have the massive line-up that some of the other companies have, but more often than not IMO , they seem to hit the ball out of the park with the tires they do have. Thoughtful and innovational design.

    The Resolutions still work well on the front, but once they wear out I’ll be trying a Geax up front. There is a noticeable increase in comfort/ cush and speed over the Reso with the Saguaro. The Geax just seems light on it’s feet- if that makes any sense…

    Do you know the weights of the Resolution and the Saguaro?

Leave a Reply

