WTB '08 29"er Tires: First Impressions- Stout 29"er

Stouts mounted to a Raleigh XXIX+G

Here we have my first impressions of the WTB Stout 29″er tires. I first decided to mount these up to Salsa Delgado Disc rims since they have a reasonably wide profile and would get that casing spread out to it’s best advantage on dirt.

The tires mounted up like about any other 29″er tire on these rims. No real problems there, just the typically slightly loose fit as you put on the tire. I aired them up to a pressure of 35psi rear and 30psi front for my initial ride. After a couple of test rides to work and back I measured the casing at 56.7mm wide. Not as wide as my Weir Wolf LT casings, but the tread is much wider.

The first real off road ride was at the local Scout Camp trails. There is an access road right at the top that bombs straight down to a lower level along a river. This access road is rough, rutted, and has some sections with bigger rocks where it is very bumpy. I was speeding down this and felt totally confident in the big wide tires. I never used the brakes all the way down, even though the rigid bike started bouncing wildly at some points off the bigger rocks. Once at the bottom, I determined that the air pressure was too high and I dumped some air out of the presta valves.

Taking off now on some twisty, tighter, and mainly flat single track I found that the Stout had amazing grip in the tacky black dirt. I could gently lean into corners at speed with no need to use the brakes if I felt confident enough to do so. The fact is, the grip was far more than my confidence level was at!

Now it was time to climb and do some up and down work. The Stout was great over the roots and rocks. Cushioning the rigid fork up front, the Stout allowed me to push faster on downhills than I could with a smaller tire.

WTB Stout and Maxxis Ignitor side by side

Above image: Stout on the left, a Maxxis Ignitor on the right

The size of the Stout is a dividing line, I think, between who will like this tire and who won’t. It’s big, as in almost too big to fit in the rear triangle of my Raleigh XXIX+G. Some frames may not clear the tire at all. Additionally, I could not use my granny gear, as the front derailluer cage drug on the outside knobs of the Stout. That doesn’t deter me, since I rarely use the granny ring, but it’s a concern that many will have. That and the weight, which is substantially more than most 29″er tires. I think it’s a moot point for what the tire is intended for: agressive, all day trail riding that demands maximum traction and toughness.

I’ll be testing these tires as such in the coming days. For now I’ll leave you with this: I ended up running the Stouts at 20psi front and 22psi rear by the end of that first ride. Looks like it’s going to be a fun, high traction, agressive affair from here on out!

No Responses to “WTB '08 29"er Tires: First Impressions- Stout 29"er”

  1. Desert9r Says:

    Thanks for the info, I was interested, but since I have an XXIX, I think I will pass.

  2. Cloxxki Says:

    GT, would this be a Rampage challenger, or a tire with different purposes in mind?
    Either way, I’d love to hear how this compares to the Rampage so many riders know, and love.

  3. Guitar Ted Says:

    Desert9r: If you are running single speed or 1 x something, you’d be fine. It’s the front derailluer that is at issue with the Raleigh.

    Cloxxki: You know well how many are trying to use the Rampage as an all mountain/free ride tire and are perhaps having issues with weak sidewalls. Well, the Stout has sidewalls that are beefier than the Rampage, which I have examples of here to compare with. The Rampage is undoubtedly a faster/less rolling resistance type of tire. The Stout makes no apologies for ultimate grip, toughness, and durability. The weight tells the story here. Stout = 1100 grams each. It is a tire that you beat on, run at super low pressure, and in severe conditions, in my mind. Not for the weak of heart! 😉

    I can not recommend that anyone run a Stout tubeless, but as you know, folks will. I suspect that pressures that have been previously unheard of for 29″ers will be used once somebody tries this. I have run Weir Wolf LT’s at 22psi before, but that was on ice over pavement, not off road. I wouldn’t have dreamt of doing that, until last weekend where I did just that on WW LT’s. This makes me think that I can get into the teens with the Stout and not see any detrimental effects. This is with a tube, and myself at 240lbs.

  4. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Great review! I’ll have to check these out and see what works in the Great Pacific NW

  5. Kosmo Says:

    Intriguing tire. You said you ended up at about 22 psi in back. For comparison purposes, I’m curious what pressure you would have run in a Rampage under similar conditions.

  6. Guitar Ted Says:

    Kosmo: While I can not compare rear pressures, I can give you a front comparison. I ran a Rampage on the front of my rigid Stout at 25psi just the other day. First of all it didn’t have anywhere near the confidence inspiring grip of the Stout and I wouldn’t have been able to dump much if any more pressure out of it either. The Stout, on the other hand felt more like suspension, had gobs more grip, and I can go lower on the pressure yet. Probably in the upper teens. This is with tubes as well.

    We are going to be getting a couple of the Schwalbe Racing Ralph 2.4’s in any day now. These are the tires I feel will be more directly comparable to the Rampage, and as a matter of fact, that’s exacatly what we have in mind to do.

  7. Desert9r Says:

    Sounds like my kinda tire, but 1100, the 900g Exi’s are slugs, ID hate to pedal 1100!

    BTW, are there any other 2.3+ other than the Exi, Weir or Stout?

  8. Guitar Ted Says:

    Desert9r: Yeah, the new Conti Mountain King 2.4″ (Beware: Suffers from Contis over optimistic measurements- it’s really a 2.1″) Also the new Schwalbe Racing Ralph 2.4″ (Beware: Suffers from the opposite problem. May not fit your frame!) We’ll be getting our hands on the Racing Ralphs anyday now. Stay tuned!

  9. Desert9r Says:

    for the cold weather I have converted my XXIX to an Urban Hauler/Grocery Getter(f-38c x r-2.3), I like the Exi’s for urban use, Except the weight(900g), any suggestions?

  10. BigCliff Says:

    I’ve currently got Ignitors on my Mono9 but am after something tougher and with more cush. (240# and riding in the cactus and rock laden TX Hill Country) I was thinking a WW LT up front and a Stout in the back would be ideal, but reading that the Stout has the wider tread I’m reconsidering.

    Anybody know if the Mono9, d460, Monocog Flight frame will fit a Weirwolf LT in the back? I’m not riding AM, just a big guy on very rocky stuff.

Leave a Reply

