WTB Weir Wolf LT: Final Review

Looking over some of the most recent posts I was reminded of a loose end that needed to be taken care of. That being the final review on the Weir Wolf Lt 2.55″ 29″er tires that I have been riding all summer and into the fall.

Actually, it comes at a rather good time as we are just firing up some more testing on WTB 29″er tires here. The thing that stands out is that despite all apearances, the Weir Wolf LT still has the biggest casing of any 29″er tire yet available. Bigger than the Stout 29″er, bigger than the Kenda and Panaracer offerings too. While it might not have the “knobbage” of those other tires, it has that wonderful plush casing, and fits a niche that no other tire really does for 29″er freaks.

We had a relatively dry and well, perfect summer for mountain biking here in the Mid-West, so it played right to the strengths of the Weir Wolf LT perfectly. I used the tire set on a geared hardtail most of the summer months and the bike was rigid up front, as well. The tires were a welcome relief from smaller trail chatter, small branches, and rocks. Pressures were maybe a bit too high at 35psi for the full effect though. I think I could have run down into the upper twenties and not suffered any ill effects, but I was having too much fun to stop and futz with that.

Cornering was predictable and felt secure. No major hiccups along the way. I didn’t experience anything but tacky to hardpack dirt though, so a dusting of loose on top may have changed my assesments. However; it just never got that way around here this year. The fall riding has been much the same, only I have had a bit of mud to deal with here and there. The Weir Wolf handled it with ease, but perhaps floated a bit, instead of cutting down into it. A corner at a muddy section would have spelled disaster I think. Otherwise, I really didn’t even notice the tire at all other than to say that the added cush was a great thing on the rigid front ends of the bikes I had the tires on.

I think the Weir Wolf shines as a front tire more than a rear, especially in tandem with a Nanoraptor, which I found to be a great single speeding combination around here this fall. As a rear it had a tendency to slip a bit on rough, rooty, or rocky climbs. Especially loose rock over hardpack. Not a bad tire on the rear, probably about like a Nanoraptor, only heavier. The Nano did just as well for me as the Weir Wolf, so I opted for the lighter weight of the Nano. You might like the Weir Wolf as a rear if you like a cushy tire though. Aired down to the upper 20’s, it gets real comfy!

In retrospect then, the Weir Wolf is a great tire in the snow, slush, and even on ice if you are carefull. I aired down to 20psi or so and had great traction on super slippery surfaces. The width of the tread keeping me upright as well. It works a trick on dry to tacky hardpack, but floats a bit too much up on mud to gain any traction in those conditions. The big casing is great for rigid bikes and adds a bit of cush. The severe conditions of rocky, rooty, slippery terrain are better left to more knobby types, but if your terrain tends towards the buff, or dry side of things, you probably should take a look see at the Weir Wolf LT 2.55″ tire.

No Responses to “WTB Weir Wolf LT: Final Review”

  1. chris Says:

    i rode the WW as a front for a few months, when i was looking for something a little more plush than my bonty XR.

    on, hardpack it rolled well, stuck like glue and was noticably softer than the bonty.

    however, as our drought increased and things dried out even more, it sent me flying to the ground 3-4 times in loose/dusty corners. so beware of dusty/sandy areas with this tire on the front. i swapped it for a rampage, and haven’t had any issues since.

    now, if i could only find something to grip through pine needles.

  2. Desert9r Says:

    Biggest tire??

    I seem to remember Kenda makes/made the Nevegal in a 2.7, correct?

  3. Dirt McGirt Says:

    I think the Nevegal is 2.5 no?

  4. Guitar Ted Says:

    Desert/Dirt: Nope! The nevegal is only offered in a 29 X 2.25″ 29″er model. The other sizes are 26″er tires. http://www.kendausa.com/bicycle/JohnTomac.html#nevegal

    Cloxxki Just posted about the Racing Ralph which very well may unseat the Weir Wolf as the largest 29″er tire here.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    DANG! WRONG AGAIN! Fooey!

  6. Dirt McGirt Says:

    DANG! WRONG AGAIN! Fooey!

  7. Dirt McGirt Says:

    Want me to do it one more time!??!?! HUH?!

  8. Slowerthensnot Says:

    This is so far my fav front tire….

    I wigh in at 190 and on a 30mm delgodo disk rim I run run this baby down to the low 20’s without a pinch!

    If you run it backwards in the rear it does have a bit more stickyness for out of the seat climbing.

  9. Guitar Ted Says:

    Slowerthensnot: Yeah, I figured that turning it around in the rear might do that, but I never got around to it. I’ll give that a try sometime.

  10. Desert9r Says:

    Hey guys check the JB catalog, 29×2.7 Nevegal. (sorry, I don’t mean to drag this out)

  11. Cloxxki Says:

    2.7″ ?
    Usually such listings are typo’s. Proof first 🙂

  12. Desert9r Says:

    Cloxxki, I sent photos to tim and a few other that I had an address for.

  13. Guitar Ted Says:

    Desert9r: Sorry, that is indeed a typo and has appeared in every J&B catalog the whole year long. They know about it too, I asked. They just don’t see fit to edit it for whatever reason.

  14. helgi Says:

    I’ve found 23-25ish psi to be the sweet spot on these (I’m 160lbs), and they roll incredibly well for such a cushy tire.

    The rear does get a bit squirrelly at times though with low psi

  15. Desert9r Says:

    I Finally got one for my utility tire (grocery haulin’ etc), I was amazed at the width before I put it on, Then I put it on, and it is narrower than the Karma 2.2 I have on the front, it it has more room than an Exiwolf! WTF?? do I need a wider rim( IM on speed discs)? under 35 psi?

  16. Desert9r Says:

    PS- I am also using the narrow Bonti tube.

  17. Guitar Ted Says:

    Desert9r: I’m sorry, but I didn’t see the question you posed until just now. Yes, a narrow rim will make a wide casing “stand up” more. You might check that out against the Karma on those rims- the WTB should look taller. Anyway, on a wider rim, the casing “spreads out” and you will get more of the tread to face the ground as well. I suspect you would see a marked difference on any rim that’s at least 28mm wide or more.

    FYI: The new Racing Ralph 2.4″ does the same thing. Narrower and taller on skinny rims, wider and flatter on wide rims.

    The tube shouldn’t have any bearing on either tire in either case. Tubes stretch to fit whatever constraints are placed on them.

  18. Desert9r Says:

    Ted-

    Weird just today I was at my LBS, for a week the owner has been hunting down a rim, Finally got one. out of J&B, BTI, and a few others, looking for rims wider than my speedDisc, the BTI rep got ahold of a Rhynolite CR-18(??) 27.5 wide

  19. Desert9r Says:

    Ted-

    Weird just today I was at my LBS, for a week the owner has been hunting down a rim, Finally got one. out of J&B, BTI, and a few others, looking for rims wider than my speedDisc, the BTI rep got ahold of a Rhynolite, 27.5 wide

Leave a Reply

