RST M-29 Fork: Update

Muddy RST!

Well, I’ve reached the end of the 20 hour break in period on the RST M-29 and I thought I’d chime in with the impressions I have so far.

I think that if you are looking for a “set it and forget it” fork, you should look no further. I have not needed to add air to the air chamber since I first installed the fork. It’s holding very well. Since the only other adjustments are the rebound, (once set, I have not seen a need to change it) and the compression/lock out lever adjustment, you really do not have a lot to think about here other than riding. Durability is an area that so far has been excellent, but I have not had the fork long enough to comment on that aspect yet. If the durability factor is there, then this fork should be on the short list of those looking for an inexpensive, high quality fork for their 29″er.

Handling is an area I have been focusing on since the RST has a 44mm offset in comparison to the Reba’s 38mm. I have noticed a bit quicker turn in and the handling around tighter turns is slightly better. An improvement over the previous fork, in my opinion, but I like a quick handling bike. The nice thing is, it’s a subtle change and it won’t radically affect the handling of any bike you mount it to that was designed around a 38mm offset.

The fork continues to impress me in the area of rigidity. It’s a solid fork which doesn’t wilt under my 240lbs in corners and off camber situations. I can set it to be slightly on the stiff side, which I prefer, but the fork is becoming more supple as the break in period ends. The lock out is nice and easy to operate.

I also wanted to pass along some new information I recieved from RST. The M-29 is going to be available in a disc only version and also in a 100mm version in canti or disc only styles. You also can remove the canti studs on the cantilever version if you desire. RST doesn’t say you can not run a 185mm rotor, but since it’s a QR fork they recommend you run a 160 rotor.

RST M-29 forks are currently available at rstmtb.com at a MSRP of $329.99. They will be available through local dealers and online retailers in the near future.

Stay tuned for more updates on the RST M-29 coming soon.

No Responses to “RST M-29 Fork: Update”

  1. Steve Says:

    I’d be interested to see how the M29 compares to a Reba fork or other forks around a similar price point. It would be nice to see if it’s a worthy alternative…

  2. a.lo Says:

    just wondering if you had any opportunity to use the remote lock out with it? if so… how would you compare it with the poplock?

  3. GreenLightGo Says:

    GT – thanks for the update. My 100mm with remote lockout should arrive in the next day or two. I’ve got 185mm rotors waiting (Juicy 7s). Using a good Salsa QR skewer though.

    I’ve read some theories on QR handle placement with the larger rotors – I’ve always run the QR on the left side but some suggest to keep it tighter, offset it from the force of the disc by putting it on the right side? What’s your thoughts on that?

  4. Guitar Ted Says:

    Steve: In relation to a Reba, I’d say the forks action is not as “buttery” smooth, perhaps a bit less active on small trail debris than a Reba, but it feels stiffer and the brakes work just a touch nicer, due to the beefy chassis.

    a.lo: I did not get the remote lock out version, but since it’s a brain dead thing to design and make, (essentially based off a friction shifter) it shouldn’t work too badly at all. The lock out on it’s own is super easy to operate with discernable and audible detents to let you set the compression at different stiffness levels

    GreenLightGo: QR placement does have a few different theories when talking disc brakes. I am leaning towards the lever on the driveside for front QR’s and disc brakes. I also use Salsa skewers and 185mm rotors on a few of my rigs. I haven’t had any issues with them so far. I did have a Bontrager skewer loosen on me, but I caught it before it became a serious issue. Just remember to check the skewer often, ( maybe even during riding) and I think you should be fine.

  5. GreenLightGo Says:

    thanks. Now my fork just needs to get here!

  6. lukas Says:

    Any onlineshops where I can get a RST – I can’t find one …

  7. Guitar Ted Says:

    lukas: They might not quite have them yet. Probably very soon though. RST is also distributed through Quality Bicycle Products, but I don’t know if these will be available through them as of yet. In the meantime http://www.rstmtb.com is your best bet.

  8. lukas Says:

    Thanks … keep twentynineinches the way it is – the best information source for 29ers also for us europeans …

  9. GreenLightGo Says:

    I ordered mine through RSTs website. They’re still building stocks, mine was shipped to the RST office directly from the factory in Taiwan after I place my order. Good communication with the sales staff though, they’re quick to keep me informed. Mine should arrive at my house tomorrow.

  10. GreenLightGo Says:

    GT – fork is installed. My Salsa Fliplock skewer hits (just barely) the rebound knob when running it on the drive-side – if I have the skewer handle running parallel to the ground (i.e. pointed back towards the pedals). Did you run into that?

    In a way – it offers some protection to that little knob but I’ve got to leave it down at a slight angle which grates at my type-A personality!

  11. Guitar Ted Says:

    GreenLightGo: Yes, I did run into that. I have both the Salsa Fliplock and a Bontrager skewer on different whelsets which I’ve had to point slightly downhill on the driveside to clear that lever. A slight annoyance off the bike as you admire your steed from across the room. (Oh come on! We all do it! 🙂 )

    But on the bike and performance wise it’s a non-issue. Maybe if you run through some extremely weedy trails where that skewer lever might gather unwanted vege, I can’t see a problem with it.

  12. GreenLightGo Says:

    GT – I ended up putting the lever on the non-drive side. No matter how many times I loosened the caliper mount, clamped the front brake and then tightened the caliper bolts to center the Juicy 7 rotor (185mm), it would still slightly drag. First time centering the caliper with the handle on the non-drive side – no drag. Could be coincidence…who knows. I just left it on the non-drive side to be drag free.

    I didn’t get an owner’s manual so wasn’t quite sure of the proper orientation on the remote lockout. I just mounted mine on the left side, clamped it just past the brake clamp with the two buttons facing perpindicular to the ground. In laymans terms, I got it set up just like a SRAM thumb shifter, just far enough out that my left thumb won’t inadvertently hit the lever. I have 5 clicks on the compression lever to hit full lock out and one release button. It’s cable acutated, pretty slick setup.

    BTW – emailed RST, the owner’s manual is located here: http://www.rst.com.tw/download/loadfile/enlish/HI-English.pdf

  13. GreenLightGo Says:

    I’ve got just shy of 100 miles on mine now and it’s a great, solid fork. I do say that my 29’er with this fork handles much better than my 5″ trail bike – it tracks very true, has displayed no flex on the southeast roots here and the remote lockout works like a charm.

    I’ve played with the remote lockout positioning and find running a lower PSI (like 85 or so) with one click in on compression dampening makes it very nice. My WeirWolf up front manages small bumps with everything else handled by the fork.

    My only beef is the cheesy decals. I pulled everything off but the M-29 graphics, but the edges have collected dirt so they have an ‘outline’ to them. Not a big deal – but cheap looking. The graphics on my RockShox Tora (which is probably the most comparable fork out there) are much better.

    Money well spent. Heck, you can buy 2 of these for the price of one of the new Fox forks.

Leave a Reply

