Mac vs PC = 29er vs 26

Big wheeled riders are just like Macintosh computer users.

A good chunk of us will pontificate about the great and mighty advantages that come with a big wheelset. And we’ll argue with the two-six crowd at the drop of a hat, even if they don’t realize an argument exists! More than once I’ve ended up in a conversation on the trail explaining to someone why my wheels are bigger and why their’s should be to.

This reminds me of a similar situation in the computer world… back a couple years ago before Macintosh became more mainstream, the people that owned one would argue with a PC user about why they obviously had an inferior machine. Again, even if the PC user didn’t realize there was an argument to be had.

In my mind nerds are all the same… it’s just the object of our affection that changes.

No Responses to “Mac vs PC = 29er vs 26”

  1. Jake Says:

    Hi, I’m a 29er…

  2. Dave Says:

    Ride different….

  3. Tim Says:

    Insanely great!

  4. BearSquirrel Says:

    I owned a Mac way back when they were actually a larger percentage of the computer market (92-95). At that time they were far superior to PCs equipped with Windows 3.1. When Windows 95 came out that really started to change and Macs started looking a little ridiculous.

    When I started working as a programmer, it was just kind of nuts to have the two different platforms. I had to use Wintel at work and I wasn’t exactly thrilled with my Mac. In 97 I went Wntel and have not been back since.

    I’ve got too much invested in PC stuff to switch to Mac. Though they are a great platform. I think Apple needs to change it’s “one button” stance and a few other quirks.

    That having been said, I’m a 29er rider. Oh well.

  5. George Krpan Says:

    Macs are not inherently better than PCs.
    29″ wheels ARE inherently better than 26″ wheels.
    The thing is, people who ride 29ers HAVE ridden 26ers AND they KNOW that 29ers are better.
    People who argue against 29ers usually have little or no experience riding one. They COULDN’T know which was better.

  6. Vic Says:

    Maybe I am a dilatant or maybe a heretic, or maybe just rational, but I have both mac’s, and pc’s. I have a 9er a 6er, a hardtail and a double squishy and well, they are computers and bicycles and as such are cool things.

    As far as I can tell, brand and platform loyalty are for suckers. No single thing is the best tool for every job. You don’t play squash with a tennis racket, you don’t do video editing with a pc and you don’t ride arroyos in the open desert with a 26 inch wheeled bike. Tennis, database management and 180 degree switchbacks are a different story.

    Bicycles are always good and wheel size choices for bicycles makes them even better.

    That being said, my 9er gets 85% if my mtn bike time.

    Oh, and you can right click on a mac now, it works just like winders on OSX.

  7. John Wm. Says:

    I’ve never owned a Mac, but I have been accused of stupidity for not owning one. I hope the my fellow 29ers are less self-righteous than the Mac users of the early 90’s.

    My 26 inch bike got me to the dance and did lots of dancing. But my 29er is my new and forever love. I feel a little guilty, but no hard feelings.

Leave a Reply

