GT Peace 9r Review: Update

Now that I have been riding this bike for a while I wanted to point out some things that I have noticed about the bike, both positive and negative.

As far as negative aspects of this bike are concerned, the only particular issue that I have repeatedly had is with the Truvativ Blaze crank. The weight and feel of the crank itself are fine, but during a recent ride as I was standing, talking to another ride and spinning the crank backwards as I tend to do, I felt the chain back up on me. You can recreate this feeling if you spin backwards on a geared bike, and if your chain is dirty and grimy, sometimes the chain will, more or less; double back instead of spinning the free wheel. It occurred to me immediately that this shouldn’t be right because, it’s a single speed and the chain is only but so loose. As I looked down to assess the problem, I noticed the chain lying on the ground, hanging over the chain stay and still attached to the rear cog. Where was the crank arm you ask? Well, it was still attached to my shoe. The main crank bolt that holds the crank arm tight to the bottom bracket had gone missing. It was in there to begin with, and apparently over time had simply backed itself out. At that time I passed it off as a simple fluke. However, on a later ride, I noticed a looseness of the crank arm again as the crank bolt, which I had replaced, was trying, once more, to back out on me. I would not want to suggest this to be a reason not to purchase the bike itself, but something you may want to keep an eye on while riding. If this were my bike, this would most likely be the first upgrade that I would make.

The other qualms in particular that I have with the Peace are minor, and all, save for one, are issues that could be solved with easy component change outs. The headset that is equipped on the bike is a bit noisy and squeaks when turning, even though it is plenty tight, and I am not necessarily a fan of the large 2.3â€? Exi-Wolf tires that are spec’d with the Peace. It’s not the larger tire itself that I’m really opposed to, though I do typically prefer a 2.1â€? tire, but the big downside to the 2.3â€? tires on the bike is with the front tire. I can’t get the front wheel off through the V-brakes with the wider tire. It seems that in this situation one has three options: deflate the tire to squeeze it through the brakes, loosen the breaks themselves, or purchase a bike rack that doesn’t require removing the front tire each time you want to go for a ride. Ok, well four options: 2.1â€? tires.

As I said before in my previous writing on the Peace, it feels larger than it should. To compare, my own personal single speed is a Karate Monkey. The frames on both bikes are sized as 18,â€? but there is something about the Peace that just makes it feel a little bigger, and that being the case, I don’t feel quite as comfortable on it as I feel I should. These of course, are all my picky notations on the bike; however I can say that the one thing I do justly dislike, and also don’t really understand, is that there are no disc brake mounts. I can’t imagine that it would cost significantly more to produce or even purchase this bike with at least the flexibility to go disc. With an MSRP of just under $600.00, I would certainly be fine with paying that little bit more to have the option. Even if GT did not particularly want to spec the bike with disc-ready wheels, it would still be a nice feature.

So, as not to spend an entire follow-up article on the points of the Peace that I am not totally fond with, I would like to go over the positives that I have noticed as well. The wheels themselves, with WTB Dual Duty rims and GT hubs feel quite solid and strong, and the hubs, have given me no reason to questions them, thus far. The Peace isn’t just a smooth rolling single track neat freak either; it can also tackle more oppressive terrain and come out unscathed. Recently I have been riding the bike more on our local trails on Candler’s mountain. To give a brief description of these trails, picture a mixture of Northwest style riding, in some parts, with log bridges, etc., single track, and then picture pretty long technical climbs and sketchy fast downhill sections. Basically, it’s where you go when you want to get that big ride feel, but you only have enough time to do a two hour loop. Riding a rigid bike on these types of trails is quite a bit rougher, but it has given me even more insight to the on the Peace itself.

I said before that it felt like I couldn’t hurt the Peace, and I have really liked that about the bike. It is also spec’d with a WTB Laser V seat which I certainly have no issues with and the Tektro Quartz brakes work quite well on a long and rocky downhill. I notice only the expected amount of brake fade that comes with v-brakes under such conditions and the Tektro Eclipse levers themselves have a superior feel and are quick to snap back into their home position. This may fade in time as dirt begins to clog the cable housings, but that will not be the fault of the levers. Keeping these clean will be important, as is the case with any bike.

I will be submitting a final review on the Peace 9r within a few weeks. Be sure to check that out. Hopefully I have, thus far, been able to shed a little light onto this “Peaceâ€? of equipment.

Read all the reviews on this bike…

No Responses to “GT Peace 9r Review: Update”

  1. Guitar Ted Says:

    I had a similar crank arm isue with a TruVativ Firex crank that wouldn’t stay tight. I finally bailed and put on an old Bontrager Race Isis crank and bottom bracket, which I might add also spun much more freely than the outboard bearings on the Firex.

    Also, I might add that the GT Peace will indeed have disc brake tabs in ’08. Obviously, linear brake purists will cry foul, but I feel like you about at least having an option to run disc brakes.

  2. Cloxxki Says:

    Tim, could the seat tube angle be steeper than you’re used to? With the same ETT as another bike, reach will be greater once the bike is set up to you liking. You might already tell from the seat being further back relative to the seat post shaft than on a similar other bike you ride.

  3. Jay Dukesherer Says:

    Tim,
    I used a Giant brand disc brake adapter on my Bianchi BUSS for a season and a half and I had really great luck with that contraption. I purchased the thing for about $30 (icyclesusa.com) and loved it. The adapter is made for use with track fork rear ends and has a strut that mounts to the canti post on the non drive side.
    I understand that this will not help with the front end, it does add weight and is not as good as a fram with disc tabs, but it is a functional upgrade for people if they are so incluned.
    Cheers,
    Jay
    Here is the link for the one I purchased:
    https://secure9.nexternal.com/shared/StoreFront/default.asp?CS=icycles&BusType=BtoC&Count1=598873317&Count2=516013741&Keyword=giant+disc+brake+adapter&Target=products%2Easp

  4. BlackBean Says:

    Wow! The problem with the Truvativ crank arm. I had the same on my Raleigh XXIX (Truvativ Fire). I thought it was because it was not tightened properly by the bike shop. Because of it coming loose, it wore out and I had to replace it. I wonder whether I should contact Truvativ about this?

  5. Jake Says:

    Clox,

    Yeah, I am not quite sure what it is. the seat is positioned exactly the same as it is on my other bikes with respect to the head tube and bottom bracket. When I got the bike I set it up to be that way. I will look to do some fine tuning on that here soon to see if I can’t get it setup to feel right for me.

  6. Jake Says:

    Blackbean,

    I am not sure. From what the others, and yourself are saying it sounds as if it is not an uncommon issue. I certainly wouldn’t want it to happen in a high speed situation. That could turn ugly.

  7. Guitar Ted Says:

    Jake, Blackbean, and anybody else that’s reading that’s had a TruVativ crank arm come off:

    They are aware there is a problem. I work at a shop that has seen multiple issues with TruVativ cranks on several different brands of bikes. The Firex/Elita seem to be the most affected by this left arm loosening, which indicates to me that the splines are not machined correctly.

    At any rate, TruVativ has been good about replacing them for us.

    Also, I might add that we haven’t seen any problems what so ever with other models of TruVativ cranks. I have a Stylo Team crank on a Dos Niner that has been rock solid for instance.

  8. Jake Says:

    Thats good to know. From what I have heard in the past, that entire group of companies is very good with customer service.

  9. BlackBean Says:

    Jake & Guitar Ted, thanks for the updates. So I guess I should contact Truvativ directly. I have already replaced the arm but have only done 1 ride with it. I don’t really expect them to refund me, but if this one does not hold up I’ll contact them. The new one is not FireX – I’ll have to check the model.

Leave a Reply

